Search This Blog

Friday, January 28, 2022

THE SHEPHERD FAMILY of HENRICO COUNTY, VIRGINIA, especially pertaining to the life events of ROYAL FLEMING SHEPHERD (1789-1850): Chapter 4

CHAPTER 4: 1819-1829



In 1819, Virginia and the rest of the United States experienced their first major economic depression, known as the Panic of 1819, affecting every industry and aspect of society with widespread ruin. The roots of the Panic occurred in 1816. The British Empire had engaged in war on two continents; with the United States in the War of 1812, and with France in the Napoleonic Wars. As these wars came to a close, the volcanic eruption of Mount Tambora was having a dramatic effect on the climate of northern Europe, drastically affecting their crops, reducing their food supply and ushering in widespread illness. British soldiers returning from war were faced with high unemployment, inflation on basic commodities and deplorable weather. British industry, especially the textile mills which employed hundreds of thousands, was suffering from a lack of available cotton.

In an effort to alleviate the constriction of food and supplies, British authorities removed the customs duty tax on American produce in order to purchase as much grain as the United States could supply. The demand was high and the supply limited, which caused the price of wheat, corn, and other grains and farm produce to escalate to record breaking prices for the next two years. In addition, British authorities needed to keep the country’s factories operational to prevent economic collapse in the midst of this calamity. Factories focused on producing cheap exports which were readily purchased in the growing American markets. The British textile industry survived on raw cotton, which was greatly diminished everywhere except America. As a result, cotton prices surged.

Interestingly, while the British removed their duty on American goods, the United States government increased the tariffs on all imports from England to spite the British recovery as punishment for causing The War of 1812. It was noted in the Carthage Gazette in April of 1816, “Britain will not look on it [the tariffs] with indifference. She has played successful the game of crowns and at the game of commerce she is adept not to be foiled even by the cunning hucksters [politicians] of New England.” Oh how prophetic these words became, as England would have a checkmate on America, in the game of commerce, in the years to come.

These were boom years for American merchants, farmers and plantation owners. Cotton had climbed from 7 ½ ¢ per pound in 1812, to 34 ¢ in 1818; and tobacco had more than doubled from 4 ¢ per pound in 1814, to 9 ¢ in 1818. As prices for produce soared, farmers desired to purchase more land to increase their yield. The banks began overextending themselves, offering loans beyond their financial backing. Land values surged in certain areas form $2 per acre to over $100 per acre during the height of the frenzy. And even at that price, planters and speculators were still able to turn a profit during the boom years. Land speculation became epidemic.

Since gold and silver were particularly rare during this era in American history, banks were allowed to print their own paper money. These bills were redeemable for “specie,” meaning gold or silver, upon request of the holder at the bank. Originally, the banks held gold and silver reserves to equal the amount of the value of paper money printed and distributed; however, over time, banks began to over print and distribute more bills than were backed by specie held in their bank. In addition, since every State and locality had different paper money, the value of that currency in trade decreased the further the distance from the bill’s origin bank. Dollar bills from a bank in New York might trade for 80 cents in Virginia, and vise versa; whereas, a dollar bill originating from a bank in Williamsburg, Virginia, might trade for 95 cents in Richmond, Virginia, and vice versa. Paper bank notes further destabilized as early as July of 1817, when banks, merchants and taverns in Washington City (Washington D.C.) began declining payment with any foreign banknotes beyond its state borders, except notes from the Bank of The United States and its branches.

The United States government established the 2nd Bank of the United States in an effort to standardize currency and hold its value backed by specie, however, it too fell into corruption during the boom years and over printed its paper money beyond what was backed in precious metals reserves, making paper money truly valueless. A final undermining of bank note value occurred throughout 1818, when the 2nd Bank of the United States began accumulating and sending overseas vast amounts of specie from all available banks in order to repay the twelve million dollars in bonds that had become due from the acquisition of the Louisiana Purchase in 1803.

What no one anticipated was how the eventual and inevitable recovery of the European harvest yields would affect every aspect of the American economy. In the spring of 1818, European crops recovered, and after two years of paying exorbitant amounts on American produce and cotton, British Parliament played a checkmate in the game of commerce by reinstating Corn Laws, which denied the import of foreign grains into the country. American wheat would plummet from $2.50 per bushel to 70 cents per bushel over the following years. In addition, English textile mills ceased buying American cotton in an effort to reduce its inflated price and began to purchase a lesser quality cotton from India. This sent the price of cotton from 34 ¢ per pound in 1818 to 17 ¢ by 1820, eventually bottoming out at 9 ¢ in 1823. The impact of these changes was a crushing blow to the booming American markets.

However, word from abroad traveled slowly during this time. Americans received all overseas news from port newspaper reporters interviewing transatlantic passengers debarking ships. Any information gained was typically further verified by the overseas newspapers also carried onboard, before being printed in the American papers. In addition, within the United States, local information was also delayed, as postal letter and word-of-mouth were the only means of transmission from place to place before the coming of the telegraph in the 1840s. Tragically, as the markets of the eastern States were collapsing, the uninformed western planters, farmers, businessmen, speculators, and commission merchants were still buying goods, cotton and land at record high prices. On June 12, 1819, the Huntsville Alabama Republican newspaper, reported that in the east “extraordinary pressures in the mercantile part of that community” had begun moving west and south “until the whole union [had] become embarrassed by the failures of mercantile houses and the depreciation of the paper currency.”

Merchants, planters, farmers and speculators who had bought goods and land on credit, unexpectedly and abruptly became hopelessly in debt and would have to liquidate all their assets to repay their creditors. During this time there were no exemption laws, thus all possessions a person or business owned were subject to be sold to satisfy his debt, generally causing total ruin to the owner. The creditor, if unsatisfied in his personal collection efforts, would force collection of the debt through the courts via lawsuits. However, if still unsuccessful, there was another more dreaded means of at least partial collection. “Shavers,” made a business of purchasing delinquent credit notes at a discount, and then forcing full collection, by the sheriff, who would hold a public auction of some or all of the debtor’s property needed to satisfy his debt.

During the Panic of 1819, Virginia was unique among the states in its splendid efforts in rendering aid to the impoverished. Cities, like Richmond, were hit especially hard by poverty and its effects were highly noticeable compared to the rural areas. In an effort to quell the homelessness, poor houses were established throughout the city. On November 7, 1821, Royal’s brother Samuel Shepherd (1792-1849) and his business partners William Pollard (?-?) and Thomas Ritchie (1778-1854), were paid $3.25 by the county for the print work they had done in advertising the building of a poor house.

Although churches had always rendered care for the poor, the Commonwealth of Virginia created a system of support in 1780. That year, the Virginia General Assembly established the Overseers of the Poor, being a group of qualified men from each community elected to render support to their local poor. One of their main functions was legally binding abandoned or impoverished children to good families to receive an education and/or learn a vocation until the age of 21 years old. In June of 1819, as the United States plummeted into the depression, the Henrico County Court appointed Royal F. Shepherd, John S. Ellis and William B. Price as Overseers of the Poor for the Upper River District.

Royal F. Shepherd fulfilled the purpose of his position well, and his care of the poor is well documented within the minute books of Henrico County. One example that is particularly interesting occurred in early 1822. John Halestock, Tom Halestock and Jesse Halestock were three orphaned free boys of colour found in the Upper River District of Henrico County. After the Overseers of the Poor bound two of the boys to good families, Royal F. Shepherd took a personal interest in last child’s wellbeing. On February 2, 1822, Royal was legally bound to Jesse Halestock until the youth reached the age of 21 years old. It is unknown what became of these three brothers, however, despite the circumstances in their youth, they were clearly presented with a significant opportunity to flourish. Royal F. Shepherd held his position as Overseer of the Poor until his resignation on June 4, 1822. The justices then appointed Royal’s friend John F. Henley in his place.

While Royal was graciously saving his fellow man in the Upper River District, a tragedy occurred at home. Circa 1819, Royal F. Shepherd’s wife Mary “Polly” (Cottrell) (1792-c.1819) died at 27 years of age. She was survived by her husband and two daughters, Mary A. Shepherd (c.1811-c.1833), age 8, and Elizabeth Shepherd (c.1815-c.1842), age 4. Mary’s death would have been almost unbearable for this young family. The Shepherd children had lost their mother and all the security, love and comfort only she could provide, and Royal had lost his companion in life.

During this time, the Shepherd household had four servants: one female between the age of 26 to 44 years, two females 14 to 25 years old, and one male 14 to 25 years old. In this family’s time of need, their ‘black family’ would have ascended to the occasion, assuming the roll of mother to the children and caretaker of the house for Mr. Shepherd. Although, Royal F. Shepherd, no doubt, developed a deep bond of appreciation towards his servants during this time of loss, he needed the security of a real mother for his daughters.


On April 11, 1820, Royal stabilized his household through a new marriage, this time to his cousin Mildred Shepherd (1800-c.1832). The bride was the 20 year-old daughter of the late Reuben Sheppard (1772-1813) and Sarah “Sally” Cocke (?-1822). Due to Mildred’s youthful age, her mother, as acting guardian, issued a letter of indemnification to the Henrico County Court to allow the matrimony. Interestingly, the merger of these two Shepherd families would have added financial security to benefit both sides. Royal clearly was achieving a comfortable life, having land, slaves and status; and
records indicate that Mildred personally owned four male slaves, under the age of 14 years old, as well as, being an heir to her late father’s land and property. However, more than anything else, Mildred’s youth added considerable benefit to Royals’ legacy, as she would bear him five children throughout their marriage: Samuel D. Shepherd (1821-1896), Mosby Shepherd (c.1822-1841), Royal Fleming Shepherd, Jr. (1824-1863), William Shepherd (1826-?), and Jane Ann Shepherd (1828-1895).

Shortly after their marriage, Royal and his wife Mildred sold the 12 3/8 acres of land she had inherited from her late father’s estate. The property was located on Old House Branch and was bounded by the lands of Mildred’s brother and sister Robert Shepherd (1809-aft.1840), and Lucinda Shepherd (1807-1877), as well as, the lands of her cousin Stephen Duvall (1782-1850). The land was purchased on September 26, 1820, by Joseph Riddle for $100 current money of Virginia.

In January of 1821, Royal’s uncle Thomas Shoemaker (1757-1821), husband of the late Frances Shapard (c. 1763-c.1801), died in Henrico County. Thomas was a wealthy man, having notable holdings in land and slaves. His wife, Frances, had predeceased him, so his entire estate was distributed to his children Elizabeth Shoemaker (c.1782-?) who married Sherod H. Johnson in 1804; Holman Shoemaker (c.1784-1849) who married Elizabeth Ford in 1806; Price Shoemaker (1789-1842) who married Cynthia Patmon (1795-1857) in 1811; Sally Shoemaker (c. 1791-?) who married Richard Cocke in 1804; Samuel Shoemaker (c.1794-1819); Thomas M. Shoemaker (1796-1863) who married Elizabeth Patmon (1802-1845) in 1821; Royal Shoemaker (c.1797-1859); and Edwin Shoemaker (c.1800-1824) married Susannah West in 1824. His son Thomas M. Shoemaker was appointed the administrator of his father’s estate, with David A. Shepherd and Price Shoemaker as securities in the amount of $7,000.

In 1821, Royal F. Shepherd’s wife Mildred blessed him with the birth of his first son. The baby was given the name of Samuel David Shepherd (1821-1896), honoring not only Royal’s father, but his brothers Samuel Shepherd and David A. Shepherd as well.

On August 6,1821, Royal F. Shepherd was appointed as Constable of the Upper District of Henrico County for a term of two years. His cousin Stephen Duvall (1782-1850) and his brother David A. Shepherd (1795-c.1830) were bound as his surety in the amount of $1,500 for the faithful performance of his office. Recall that On December 8, 1812, during the War of 1812, Royal held this same office in Henrico County for two years. Approximately every month, Royal would submit a bill to the County Court, which in turn was forwarded to the Auditor of Public Accounts for payment. His billable compensation for services rendered ranged monthly from $1.60 to $6.64. Royal resigned from the office on May 5, 1823, and William Gill was appointed in his place. It is impressive that in 1821, at 32 years of age, Royal was a Constable, an Overseer of the Poor, a farmer, a husband, a father and a master.

Circa June of 1822, Royal’s aunt and new mother-in-law, Sarah “Sally” Sheppard (?-1822), widow of Reuben Sheppard (1772-1813), died in Henrico County. Royal F. Shepherd became the administrator of the estate and was backed by his cousin Stephen Duvall (1782-1850) as his surety in the amount of $2000. On August 21, 1822, Royal held an estate sale at the farm of the late Reuben and Sally Sheppard, where he and his wife purchased a loom, candlesticks, bread tray, blankets, table cloths, barrels, gun, hoes, cow, plow and gear. Items purchased by other buyers included a negro boy Peter, negro boy James, negro man Solomon, 4 cows, furniture, kitchenware, food, spinning wheels, tools, crop of fruit, crop of greens, crop of cotton, crop of oats, crop of wheat, etc. Purchasers were: Royal F. Shepherd, Reuben Shepherd, Jr., Stephen Duvall, Charles Nuttall, Benjamin Duvall, James H. Patterson, William Alley, James Longest, John S. Ellis, Thomas Shaw, John L. Bowles, Samuel Cottrell, Jr., Jordan Fares, Anderson Sharp, John Brown, Martin Pate, Samuel Flesher, Bartan Smoot, Samuel Brown, Charles Woodward, John F. Henley, Thomas Cocke, John Patterson and Royal Shoemaker.

The court had appointed John F. Henley, Charles Woodward, Jesse Sneed and Obadiah Duval as the appraisers of her estate. They were also to assign the value and portion of undivided land and slaves that each of the heirs would receive. After the sale of the undivided land for $691, the sale of one negro woman for $150 and the proceeds from the estate sale of $947, each of the eight legatees received $217.43 as their inheritable portion. Royal also received a commission as the administrator of the estate in the amount of $42.

Samuel Smith Cottrell (1782-1855), husband of Sarah W. Shepherd (1797-1855), was appointed as the guardian of the orphaned minors Reuben Shepherd (1803-1892), Richard C. Shepherd (c.1805-c.1842), Lucinda Shepherd (1807-1877) and Robert Shepherd (1809-aft.1840). The surety for Samuel S. Cottrell was James Patterson (c.1795-?), husband of Elizabeth Shepherd (1796-?), in the amount of $3000. At the distribution of the inheritance, Samuel S. Cottrell, as guardian of four of the Shepherd orphans, received $869.72 to be held in trust for the care and education of the children, until they reached the age of 21 years old.

Circa 1822, Royal F. Shepherd and his wife Mildred were blessed with the birth of their second son. They named the baby Mosby Shepherd (1822-1841).

In 1822, Royal F. Shepherd (1789-1849) had three slaves over the age of 16 years and four horses. His brother David A. Shepherd (1795-c.1830) had two slaves over the age of 16 years and four horses. David had his 80-acre country land near the coal pits in Henrico County, and also had acquired a city dwelling in Richmond on H Street. As an investment, David and his cousin Thomas M. Shoemaker (1796-1863) obtained two tenements of land in the city of Richmond, next to David’s residence, that they sold on August 9, 1822, for $1,900 to William Fulcher.

Thomas M. Shoemaker (1796-1863) was the son of Frances Shapard (c. 1763-c.1801) and Thomas Shoemaker (1760-1821), as well as, the cousin of David A. Shepherd. Interestingly, on August 6, 1821, Thomas M. Shoemaker married Elizabeth Patmon (1802-c.1845), the sister of David’s wife Nancy Patmon (1800-c.1823). In August of 1823, the court ordered Royal F. Shepherd, David A. Shepherd, Reuben Burton, Samuel Cottrell and John Lacy as commissioners to examine and settle all the accounts of Thomas M. Shoemaker as the executor of Thomas Shoemaker, deceased. After his legal responsibilities were concluded, Thomas M. Shoemaker and his wife Elizabeth moved to Shelby County, Kentucky; no doubt being influenced by the letters of Nancy Shepherd (1794-1873), daughter of Reuben Sheppard (1772-1813) and Sarah “Sally” Cocke (?-1822), and her husband Richardson Jones (1791-1878), who had settled in Shelby County in 1819. About a year after Thomas moved to Kentucky, his brothers Royal Shoemaker and Price Shoemaker (1789-1842) and Price’s wife Cynthia Patmon (1795-1857), sister of Thomas’ wife Elizabeth, also migrated to Shelby County. In the 1830s, the Jones family and Shoemaker families migrated together to Daviess County, Kentucky, where Thomas and his brother Royal settled on 252 acres along Panther Creek.

During this era, quality roads were crucial for travel by horse and wagon, as well as, for allowing planters to get their products to market in a timely manner. By law, roads were to be maintained twice a year by court selected landowners bordering the road. They were required to keep the road free of low hanging limbs, remove nuisance rocks, brush and stumps and make repairs as necessary, in an attempt to make travel safer. Most planters utilized their slaves for this labor. On May 6, 1822,
The County Court ordered that the hands of Royal F. Shepherd, Richard Shepherd, Stephen Duval, Zacharia McGruder, Samuel Cottrell, Peter Fletcher, John Blackburn, Samuel Brown, Samuel Cottrell, Jr., and Charles Woodward be assigned to work on the Notched Road from the Short Pump to Deep Run, of which Royal F. Shepherd was appointed surveyor. Royal received $12 for the services he rendered in supervising the roadwork. On October 7, 1822, Royal’s brother David A. Shepherd was appointed surveyor of the road from Hungary Run to the Deep Run Coal Pits, in the place of John Lacy.

In August of 1823, Royal’s aunt Elizabeth Shapard (c.1755-1823) the wife of the late Joseph Duvall (?-1800) died in Henrico County. Her sons, Stephen Duvall (1782-1850), and Obadiah Duvall (1794-?) were the administrators of her estate, with Royal F. Shepherd and John L. Bowles as securities in the amount of $4,000. The County Court commissioned Royal F. Shepherd, John S. Ellis, Jesse Sneed, William Gill and Samuel Brown to settle the account of the administrators of Elizabeth’s estate and report their findings to the court.

Tax records for Henrico County, in 1824, documented that Royal F. Shepherd had three slaves over the age of 16 years, one male and two females. He also had five horses. His brother David A. Shepherd was taxed on two slaves over the age of 16 years and four horses. Their cousin Reuben Shepherd (1803-1892) and Richard C. Shepherd (c.1805-c.1842) were also accounted for on the record as white poles over the age of 16 years. Richard initially appeared in in the tax records in 1823, whereas, Reuben first appeared in 1820. Neither of them had slaves or horses at this time.

On May 5, 1824, Royal F. Shepherd acquired 40 additional acres of land adjoining his property on Deep Run. The land was sold by Charles Nuttall and his wife Maria Longest for the sum of $360. Charles and Maria were married in Henrico County on July 9, 1821. The property was also bounded by the lands of Samuel Cottrell and Samuel Brown.

Royal F. Shepherd and his wife Mildred were blessed with the birth of their third son on September 23, 1824. They named him Royal Fleming Shepherd, Jr. (1824-1863), in honor of his father.

David A. Shepherd and his brother-in-law Fleming Patmon were summoned to be jurors on numerous court cases in 1824. Fleming Patmon (c.1797-c.1849) married Sarah “Sally” Ryall, the daughter of John Ryall (1770-1809) and Mary Smith (?-?), on February 7, 1820. Fleming and David had a tremendous friendship throughout their lives, and were most likely business partners in coal mining or land specualtion. Both men had much in common, Fleming, like David was a slave holder, a staunch democrat and had a reckless entrepreneurial spirit. Fleming and his wife lived along the Richmond Turnpike and Old Coal Pit Road, near David Shepherd’s land. In March of 1822, Fleming was commissioned as Captain in the 33rd Regiment, 4th Division, 2nd Brigade Virginia Militia. In April of 1822, Fleming was appointed as Constable of Upper District of Henrico County, for a term of two years; however, he resigned his position in March of 1823. In the early 1830s, Fleming’s entrepreneurial ventures rendered him financially desperate. He was sued, in 1832, by Sherard H. Johnson, husband of Elizabeth Shoemaker (c.1782-?), for the recovery of a debt, upon which Fleming had bound his farm as collateral. On February 9, 1833, Fleming’s farm of 170 acres upon which he resided, seven miles from Richmond was sold at public auction. Pressed for funds, Fleming also sold off most of his negros, going from three slaves in 1830 to one slave by 1832. Interestingly, as a means of income, in June of 1834, Fleming was appointed as Constable, serving two full terms until 1838. In the 1840s, Fleming resided on 80 acres of land on Old Mountain Road, near his old farm. He died in 1849 in Henrico County.

David A. Shepherd had married Fleming Patmon’s sister Nancy in 1818. In or about the year 1824, Nancy died in Henrico County. She was survived by her husband and daughter Mary Elizabeth Shepherd born circa 1820. Fleming Patmon and his wife Sarah clearly played a significant roll in consoling and caring for David and his young daughter after the tragedy. Through this association, David was introduced to Sarah’s sister Nancy Apperson Ryall (1802-?). Apparently, the match was fruitful, as David A. Shepherd married Nancy A. Ryall circa 1825. David would have two additional children through this union, John David Shepherd (c.1826-c.1895) and Mary Jane Shepherd (c.1828-?).


Nancy Apperson Ryall (1802-?) was the daughter of John Ryall (1770-1809) and Mary Smith (?-?) and was named after her aunt Nancy (Ryall) Apperson. Nancy Apperson Ryall’s (1802-?) father John had died when she was only 6 years old, and it appears that their grandfather James Ryall (?-1812) and his wife Lucy became a source of security for the family. When James died in 1812, he left most of his estate in the form of land and slaves to his grandchildren Nancy and her five siblings, being Mary Jane Ryall who married George King on September 6, 1810; James Smith Ryall (1798-1882) who was a bachelor, John Bacon Ryall (1804-?) who married Maria Cottrell (1808-?) on May 25, 1827, the daughter of Peter Cottrell (1783-1827) (son of Peter Cottrell 1760-1815 and Susanna Shapard 1760-1807) and Sarah Ellis; Sarah Miller Ryall who married Fleming Patmon (c.1797-c.1849) on February 7, 1820; and Betsy Burton Ryall (1800-?) who married John P. White on October 7, 1817.
 
Interestingly, Nancy A. Ryall had a fair amount of wealth for a woman of her age. When her grandfather’s estate was settled in 1818, Nancy was bequeathed a slave girl named Keziah and had inherited 170 acres from the division of land. Upon receiving this property, she appointed John P. White as her guardian, and he gave bond in the sum of $3000. However, by 1819, Martin Smith had become her guardian. It appears that after Nancy and David A. Shepherd married, they resided on the 170 acres of land, making it their home.
 


On April 6, 1825, the justices of the County Court received a report from Jesse Snead, who was appointed to superintend the election of Overseers of the Poor in the Upper River District of Henrico County. According to the report, David A. Shepherd, Malachi Tinsley, and John S. Bowles were duly elected as Overseers of the Poor in the said district. The three men returned to court the following month where they were interviewed by the justices and qualified to commence their work.

On August 1, 1825, William Gill was appointed as the new surveyor of the road from Deep Run Church to Short Pump in the place of Royal F. Shepherd. Deep Run Church was located on Three Chopped Road, less than two miles from Royal’s plantation. The initial church was founded in 1742 as an Episcopal [Church of England] congregation, and a wooden church was built in 1749. During the American Revolution, favoritism towards Episcopal churches waned and the building was commissioned for use as a war hospital. After the war, a Baptist congregation assembled there, and, in 1791, it became known as Hungry Baptist Church. In 1819, church leaders changed its name to Deep Run Baptist Church, due to its proximity to the Deep Run Creek. It is known that some of Royal’s children joined the Third Baptist Church in Richmond Virginia in the early 1840s. And it is highly probable that the Shepherd family were members of the Deep Run congregation, illuminating their association with the Baptist denomination.

In 1826, Royal F. Shepherd had five slaves, three over 16 years of age and two between the ages of 12 to 16 years. He also had three horses. His brother David A. Shepherd had six slaves, four over the age of 16 years and two between the ages of 12 to 16 years, and four horses. Both men were living in the Upper District of Henrico County as their primary residence. Interestingly, their cousins, Richard C. Shepherd (c.1805-c.1842) and Reuben Shepherd (1803-1892), sons of Reuben Sheppard (1772-1813) and Sarah “Sally” Cocke (?-1822), had sporadically appeared in the Henrico County tax records throughout the 1820s; however, commencing in 1826, and thereafter, they are listed only in Goochland County. For the year 1826, Reuben was listed as having five slaves over the age of 12 years and one horse. His brother Richard had no slaves and one horse.

A celebration was had in 1826, in Henrico County, when Royal’s wife Mildred gave birth to their fourth son. They named the baby William Shepherd (c.1826-?).


Another grand celebration occurred, this time in Goochland County, when, on March 22, 1826, Reuben Shepherd (1803-1892) married Susan G. Jordan (c. 1809-1894). The bride was the seventeen year-old daughter of Reuben Jordan (1773-1826) and Phebe Wingfield (?-1839) who married in Goochland County, Virginia, in 1801. Her father owned a 500-acre plantation in Goochland County, and was the master of approximately 6 slaves. Her parents had eight children whom survived to adulthood: Robert W. Jordan (1802-1856); James B. Jordan; Susan G. Jordan (1809-1894) married Reuben Shepherd; Samuel M. Jordan; Reuben F. Jordan; Joseph W. Jordan; Sarah F. Jordan married Alfred Crump; and Phebe Ann Jordan married J.W. Walton. Tragically, only a few months after Reuben and Susan married, her father died in Goochland County. The young couple inherited a few slaves and a division of her father’s plantation where they initially resided.

During the late 1820s and early 1830s, Reuben began working towards owning and operating his own grist mill and needed the capital to fund such a venture. Over the following years, he would liquidate many of his assets to fund his business endeavor. In 1826, Reuben had five slaves over 12 years of age and one horse, of which, all would be sold over the next four years. Reuben would not invest in another slave until 1834. In 1827, Reuben sold the land that he inherited from his father Reuben Sheppard, Sr. (1772-1813), being 3/4 of an acre land in Henrico County on Deep Run and Old House Branch, for $50 to Stephen Duvall (1782-1850). In 1831, Reuben and Susan sold all their rights to her father’s estate for $450 to her brothers Robert W. Jordan and James B. Jordan.


In 1832, Reuben’s hard work and ambitious savings finally allowed him to realize his dream. On March 31st, he purchased, for $2000, a mill pond with houses and adjoining 10 acres on Tuckahoe Creek in Goochland County from Samuel Leake. He began grinding grist that same year, and his operation became known as Shepherd’s Mill. Over the following years, he purchased additional acres surrounding his mill from John W. Ford, Charles Ford and Benjamin Nuckols. In 1838, his mill was running a healthy profit and Reuben acquired three slaves and had recently purchased an additional 360 acres of land around the mill from John W. Ford for $1000, bounded by Chopped Road and a road leading to Shepherds Mill and Tuckahoe Creek.

However, in 1840, the effects of the economic depression known as the Panic of 1837, had fully reached Goochland County and Reuben found himself in troublesome debt. As early as October of 1837, Reuben and his brother Richard C. Shepherd (c.1805-c.1842), who likely worked together at Shepherd’s Mill, were the defendants in lawsuits filed against them for the recovery of debts. In an attempt to alleviate their financial woe, Reuben and his wife sold the land she inherited from her father on Tuckahoe Creek for $237 to her brother Robert Jordan. Reuben also sold 250 acres for $700, on March 1st to Robert Farrar, adjoining Three Notched Road, being the greater portion of land that he purchased in 1838 from John W. Ford. In June of 1840, Reuben made an agreement to sell at public auction his remining 148 acres on Tuckahoe Creek that included his grist mill if he was unable to satisfy his $669 debt to Charles Ford by December.

From all accounts, Reuben honored his debt to Mr. Ford and retained his mill for the duration of his life. His occupation was listed as a miller in 1870 and a miller and a farmer in 1880. However, he also continued to invest in real estate. At the beginning of the Civil War in 1860, Reuben purchased 65 acres of land known as Little Store for $640, upon which he sold three years later to Jacob Sampson for $1,170. In 1870, he sold 10 acres to Marie L. Watson for $350, being a portion of land from the division of the estate of Reuben’s late brother-in-law Joseph W. Jordan. In 1874, Reuben carved 8 acres from his land along the Three Chopped Road, adjoining the property of Dr. R. G. Parrish, and sold it to Andrew Johnson for $80.

Reuben died at his home on October 16, 1892 at the impressive age of 89 years old. He was a member of the Methodist Church and had favored the Republican Party. His wife Susan G. Shepherd survived him for two more years, passing away on September 9, 1894. Together they had eight children: Sarah A. Shepherd (1827-1900); Elizabeth “Betsy” Shepherd (1832-?); Susan E. Shepherd (1833-?); Lucinda F. Shepherd (1836-1861); Robert B. Shepherd (1840-1908); John W. Shepherd (1843-1923); Phebe J. Shepherd (1846-1913); and Mildred Shepherd (1852-1893).

Circa July of 1826, Royal F. Shepherd’s mother, Mary (Allen) (Sheppard) Cottrell (c.1769-1826) died in Henrico County. She had survived two husbands, Samuel Shapard III [spelled later as Sheppard] (c. 1767-1795) and Charles Waddell Cottrell (1751-1818). After the death of her last husband, Mary remained a widow, residing on her 300 acre estate, for the remainder of her life. Mary’s son Royal F. Shepherd and her step-son Samuel Cottrell became the executors of her estate. An estate sale was held on July 13, 1826 of the remaining personal property, collecting a sum of $1,285.95 to be distributed among the Shepherd and Cottrell heirs.

In the spring and summer of 1826, a new road was to be opened from the Tuckahoe Coal Pits, through the lands of John Wickham, to the James River Canal. The County Court commissioned Royal F. Shepherd, Jesse Sneed, Samuel Brown, John F. Henley and Samuel Cottrell to be appointed commissioners to view the ground along which the new road was proposed and report back their recommendations.

Henrico County was the site of the first commercial coal operation the history of the United States. Coal from the Richmond deposits was first discovered in the county in 1701, and was prized for its high quality. During the 1700s to the early-1800s, this coal was extracted by digging a hole or pit in the ground to a depth of about 30 feet, all the while carving out the coal from the walls, which began about four feet below the surface. The pit eventually filled with rain or ground water, whereby, a new pit was begun, abandoning the former. In the 1760s, Samuel DuVal became one of the first to excavate, transport and sell coal from the Deep Run area. With the labor of ten men, they removed the coal, placed it on wagons or boats and shipped it to Richmond, where it was further distributed for sale. Because of its high quality, Deep Run coal was favored by iron smiths to fuel their furnaces, and even fueled the Westham Foundry for weapon production during the Revolutionary War. In 1786, coal was discovered in the Tuckahoe Valley and landowners along the Tuckahoe Creek capitalized on the opportunity. William Cottrell, Thomas Randolph, John Ellis and John Wickham all had coal fields and shipped the product down the creek, to the James River, and then to market in Richmond.

During the War of 1812, the United States government placed tariffs on British imported coal which caused a shift favoring the number of American consumers purchasing local Virginia coal. As coal production increased, improvements were desperately needed to maintain the roads and waterways for transportation. Safer, wider and more maintained toll roads known as ‘turnpikes’ were constructed as the main coal roads, which could bear the weight of constant wagon flow. During this time the Deep Run Turnpike was constructed from the coal pits directly to Richmond. While these roads initially helped, the high tolls and wagon congestion proved them inadequate long term. Deep Run Creek was also dammed in an effort to maintain its water level to increase the predictability of shipping. In the late 1820s, the Tuckahoe Canal was built to allow easier access to the James River, reaching the Deep Run pits in 1829. During this time, on a larger scale, the James River Canal was being widened, straightened and rerouted to accommodate better water travel for shipping and transportation as part of Virginia infrastructure improvements that would continue through the 1850s.


In the 1810s, large scale coal mining operations began digging deeper and farther underground. In 1818, Henry “Harry” Heth’s mine in the Richmond field reached 300 feet in depth and was the first in the United States to incorporate the use of a steam powered pump to continually remove the ground water. In the mid-1830s, short-span railway systems would be built around the mines at Tuckahoe and Deep Run areas to transport coal with more ease. Although these larger mining operations became increasingly more dangerous due to fires, cave-ins, heavy machinery and poisonous gases, the profitability made mine owning or investing desirous. The profitability of Virginia coal would reach its pinnacle in 1824, holding 60 percent of the coal market. However, as railway systems to larger coal fields in other states, especially Pennsylvania, allowed for higher coal production, easier coal transportation and cheaper coal prices, Virginia coal declined drastically to about 10 percent of the market by 1840. After the Civil War, Virginia coal mining faded into obscurity.

In 1827, Royal Shepherd’s brother David A. Shepherd, of 32 years of age, had created a financially comfortable life for himself. He had 250 acres of land, five slaves and three horses and was in a business partnership with his friend and former brother-in-law, Fleming Patmon. Although it is unclear in what business the two men were involved as partners, it does seem to be linked to the coal industry, possibly as small-scale miners. It is very evident that as the Virginia coal market faltered in the late 1820s, so too did David and Flemings business venture. The first sign of their impending financial woe occurred on November 8, 1827, when Richardson Energy, a small-scale coal company, purchased for a measly $1, the mineral interests that David A. Shepherd and Fleming Patmon had in two tracts of land.

In January of 1828, the same year that Pennsylvania coal overtook Virginia coal in the U.S. market, David A. Shepherd found himself in debt to James P. Taylor in the sum of $217.97, for which he leveraged his negro boy Jesse, three work horses and one wagon and gear as security. Unfortunately, David was unable to pay the debt on time and on June 17th, these items were sold at public auction at Wilson Brackett’s tavern in the city of Richmond. In March of that year, David was $50 in debt to Mosby Woodson and was forced to secured his negro girl Causey to be sold at public auction to satisfy the debt. In April, David was $134.60 in debt to his brother Samuel Shepherd of Richmond, upon which David entered into an agreement that if the debt was not paid, his brother Royal F. Shepherd would sell David’s slave ‘Stephen’ at public auction and disperse the funds accordingly.

The financial ruin and stress felt by David A. Shepherd is evident in that his personal property diminished from five slaves and five horses in 1828, to one slave and two horses only a year later. During this time there were no exemption laws, thus all possessions a person or business owned were subject to be sold to satisfy his debt, generally causing total ruin to the owner. The creditor, if unsatisfied in his personal collection efforts, would force collection of the debt through the courts via lawsuits. However, if still unsuccessful, there was another more dreaded means of at least partial collection. “Shavers,” made a business of purchasing delinquent credit notes at a discount, and then forcing full collection, by the sheriff, who would hold a public auction of some or all of the debtor’s property needed to satisfy his debt.

In an effort to save his home from being taken in bankruptcy or by shavers, David A. Shepherd sold his 170 acres and all his household goods and furniture to his children for $1, on July 28, 1828, “for and in consideration of the natural love and affection which I bear to Mary E. Shepherd, John D. Shepherd and Mary Jane Shepherd…” In August, David sold the land upon which his coal field was likely located for $400 to David Baker. This was the 80 acres of land along the road leading to Burtons’ Coal Field, that he had purchased from Samuel Smith Cottrell in 1817, and was adjacent the lands owned by coalers John Lacy and Heth, Sheppard & Co. (being Harry Heth, Benjamin Sheppard, Robert Gordon and James Carrie). By 1829, David had become completely destitute of property, owning no land, slaves or horses, and he died in 1829 or early 1830, at 35 years of age, in the prime of his life. While David’s business collapse explains his financial demise, his early death creates a mystery. Another possibility was that David may have been badly injured or had an illness rendering him unable to work, thus setting off the chain of events that led to his financial ruin and early demise. Regardless of the cause, this tragic event was devastating to his older brothers Royal F. Shepherd and Samuel Shepherd, whom had all been so close.

After David’s death, his wife Nancy remained on their 170 acre farm in Henrico County, raising her one year old daughter Mary Jane Shepherd (1828-?), her three year old son John David Shepherd (1826-1895), and her nine year old stepdaughter Mary E. Shepherd (1820-?). Fortunately, Nancy’s sister Betsy Burton Ryall (1800-?), whom had married John P. White in 1817, lived next door, and was a great benefit during this time. By 1838, Nancy had gained the assistance and support of her two brothers James Smith Ryall (1798-1882) and John Bacon Ryall (1804-?) whom had acquired John P. White’s land next to the Shepherd’s farm. In 1851, Nancy A. (Ryall) Shepherd finally sold the 170 acres of land in Henrico County, that she inherited from her grandfather’s estate in 1818, to her son John D. Shepherd for five dollars. Nancy died in Henrico County on July 10, 1859, of consumption.

At present, little information has been recovered pertaining to David and Nancy’s daughters; However, there is an abundance of records pertaining to their son John David Shepherd (1826-1895). In 1848, John married Cordelia E. Ford (1825-1876). They would raise eight children on the 170 acre farm upon which John was born. After the death of his first wife, John married Odora Mildred Cauthorne of Hanover County, Virginia. Together they would rear an additional five children in Henrico County. John D. Shepherd died circa 1895.

Circa May of 1827, Royal F. Shepherd’s cousin Peter Cottrell (1783-1827) died in Henrico County. Peter was the son of Peter Cottrell (1760-1815) and Susanna Shapard (1760-1807). Peter married Sarah “Sally” Ellis on November 26, 1804, in the city of Richmond, Virginia. They had seven children: Lucy, John, Maria, Sarah, Peter, Reuben and Caroline. During the War of 1812, Peter served as Sergeant in the 33rd Regiment Virginia Militia commanded by Capt. William Henley. On May 12, 1827, the Henrico County Court appointed Royal F. Shepherd, Stephen Duvall, John Bowles, Malachai Tinsley to appraise the estate of the late Peter Cottrell. His wife, Sally Cottrell, was given guardianship of the minor children.

In late 1828 or early 1829, Royal F. Shepherd’s wife gave birth to a daughter. They named her Jane Ann Shepherd (c.1829- 1895). This would be the last child born within their union.

In 1829, Royal F. Shepherd was residing in the Upper District of Henrico County, specifically in Precinct 13. Henrico County authorities had divided the county into precincts in 1823, for greater ease of land processioning and voting. Royal’s brother David A. Shepherd resided in Precinct 17. In 1829, the Henrico County personal property tax list documents that Royal F. Shepherd had five slaves. Four of the slaves were over the age of 16 years old, and one of the slaves was between the age of 12 to 16. He also had four horses.




THE SHEPHERD FAMILY of HENRICO COUNTY, VIRGINIA, especially pertaining to the life events of ROYAL FLEMING SHEPHERD (1789-1850): Chapter 3

CHAPTER 3: 1815-1819



On August 8, 1815, Royal F. Shepherd purchased 107 ½ acres of land on Deep Run from William Brown and his wife Hanna for $1,400. The property was bounded by the lands of Charles Woodward (1769-1825), Stephen Duval (1782-1850), Samuel Brown (1771-1847) and Royal’s widowed aunt Sally Sheppard (?-1822). That same day, Royal mad a $600 profit by selling the same land to Stephen Duval (1782-1850), Martin Smith, Zachariah Magruder, Reuben Burton and Richard C. Gillian. The collective of men were investors, headed by Royal’s cousin Stephen Duval (1782-1850), whom greatly desired the property as a site for a mill, paying an astronomical $2000 for the land.


Stephen Duval (1782-1850) was the son of Joseph Duval (?-1800) and Elizabeth Shapard (1755-?). Stephen had a talent for business and acquired great wealth through his ventures. He purchased many tracts of land along creeks ideal for the operation of mills. As the city of Richmond grew, he saw the value of lumber and nails for construction, and founded the first planning mill and nail factory in Henrico County. Stephen also invested heavily in properties within the city of Richmond. He was a veteran of the War of 1812 and married Lucy Johnson (1790-1842) having many children. His first home was located on Deep Run; yet, later he established his residence on a James River plantation known as “Cedar Grove,” where he is buried.

Around this time, Royal and his wife Mary were blessed with the birth of their second child, a daughter they named Elizabeth Shepherd (c.1815-c.1842). Interestingly, Royal’s wife Mary was unable to “conveniently” come to the courthouse for the acknowledgement of the sale of their land to Mr. Duvall, et. al., due to the fact that she was pregnant or had recently delivered her baby. Two Justices of the County Court, Samuel Brown and Thomas Lewis, made a personal visit in late October to the Shepherd home to ensure she was under no duress from her husband to sell the land. At present, few records have been found pertaining to their daughter Elizabeth Shepherd, except that in 1840, at 25 years of age, she was unmarried and living in Richmond, Virginia.

Interestingly, only a few months after Royal sold the land to Stephen Duvall and the other mill investors, Royal’s sister Mary A. “Polly” Hopkins and her husband Jacob Hopkins decided to also cash in on the lucrative price of land offered on Deep Run properties. Due to the fact that the newlyweds were living in Fluvanna County for the foreseeable future, they had no need for their property in Henrico County. On December 20, 1815, Mary A. Hopkins sold her inherited land of 104 ½ acres on Deep Run in Henrico County, bounded by the lands of David A. Shepherd, Royal F. Shepherd, David Bullock, and others, to Stephen Duvall, Reuben Barton, Martin Smith, Zachariah Magruder and Samuel Patterson for $1500. Royal F. Shepherd, David A. Shepherd and John Blackburn all signed their names as witnesses on the deed.


In November of 1815, the County Court approved the construction of a road through the Deep Run area to service a local coal mine. The throughfare was known as Heth Road, being named after the landowner and mine operator Harry Heth, by whom the road was first proposed. It traversed the lands of William Cottrell, Daniel Perkins, David Bullock, Charles Cottrell, David A. Shepherd, Stephen Duval & Company, Royall F. Shepherd, Reeves Tinsley, John F. Henley, Martin Pate, John Lawrence, Reuben Alsey, Sheppard Jones, Robert Jones, Nancy Jones and John Ambler. A writ of ad quod damnum was issued by the court to the landowners to assess the damage the road would inflict on their lands. In March of 1817, another road was surveyed by Royal F. Shepherd, William Cottrell and Martin Pate to run from Stephen Duvall’s mill to the Three Notched Road and Woodward’s Bridge.

On November 7, 1815, Royal’s brother Samuel Shepherd (1792-1849) filed a lawsuit against his uncle and former guardian Samuel Woodward (1762-1828) for the collection of an overdue debt. Recall that on April 5, 1813, when Samuel turned 21 years of age, he had sold his inherited land on the waters of Deep Run to Charles Woodward (1769-1825), the brother of his former guardian Samuel Woodward (1762-1828), and moved to Richmond. Whilst in Richmond, Samuel gained employment with the Richmond Compiler, being the city’s first successful daily newspaper, and possibly the Virginia Patriot newspaper, learning the trade of printing and typesetting. Apparently, he became very proficient and talented at his job, which was disrupted by the War of 1812.

After serving in the militia during the war, Samuel left Richmond and moved to Norfolk, Virginia, where he formed a partnership, in early 1815, with Hamilton Shields. The two men had much in common, both were veterans of the war and Samuel had worked with Hamilton’s brother William at the Compiler newspaper office in Richmond. The men began a daily newspaper in Norfolk titled the American Beacon and Commercial Diary which found great success. In April of 1816, Samuel and Hamilton brought in another partner, a printer named Henry Ashburn, to keep up with the growing operation of their paper.

Back in Richmond, in May of 1816, the Compiler newspaper, owned partly by William Shields, was purchased by Philip Duval and Daniel Trueheart. After the sale, Mr. Shields desired to partner with his brother in Norfolk and made Samuel Shepherd a lucrative offer, buying out his interest in the American Beacon and Commercial Diary. Samuel then returned to Richmond and partnered with William Pollard. Both men were talented printers by trade, and together they ventured into business operating a printing shop under the firm name of “Shepherd & Pollard.”
The firm was located on 13th Street next to the Eagle Hotel, and engaged in the printing of leaflets, broadsides, stationary, minutes, books, sermons, etc. ‘Shepherd & Pollard’ prided themselves on having a wide array of new fonts and elegant types, as well as, state-of-the-art ink rollers for the beautiful execution of their work. The firm quickly gained a large patronage in Richmond and beyond.

On October 15, 1816, the Shepherd family of Henrico County celebrated the wedding of Sarah “Sally” Warrock Shepherd (1797-1855) to Samuel Smith Cottrell (1782-1855). Sarah was the 19 year-old daughter of Sarah “Sally” (Cocke) (?-1822) and the late Reuben Sheppard (c.1772-1813). Due to her youthful age, her mother legally had to consent to the marriage. Samuel Smith Cottrell was the son of Charles W. Cottrell (1751-1818) and Mary Shapard (1758-c.1799). After the death of his first wife, Charles W. Cottrell then married Mary “Polly” (Allen) Sheppard (1769-1826) in 1799, being Royal F. Shepherd’s widowed mother. Therefore, Royal F. Shepherd and Samuel Smith Cottrell were not only step-brothers, but also became brothers-in-law when Royal married Samuel’s sister Mary “Polly” Cottrell (1792-c.1819). This closeness in family ties with Samuel Smith Cottrell, explains why Royal F. Shepherd was his surety on the marriage bond.

An interesting event occurred in November of 1816, during a heated political election for the Henrico County House of Delegates of the Commonwealth of Virginia between former judge and incumbent George Savage (?-1824) and lawyer William Byrd Chamberlayne (1789-1858). On election day, Mr. Chamberlayne prevailed in the polls by only 28 votes (182 to 154); and, as was common practice, a list of voters their votes was made available to both parties. Upon examination, Mr. Savage noticed a number of questionable votes being attributed to Mr. Chamberlayne’s tally. Mr. Savage petitioned the Henrico County Committee of Privileges and Elections to oversee the matter to expunge these fraudulent votes from Mr. Chamberlayne’s poll numbers. In response, the committee investigated the voters in question and published a list of their findings. One of those votes being object to by Mr. Savage was that of Samuel Smith Cottrell (1782-1855), son of Charles, who owned no land at the time, thus was not legally permitted to cast a vote. Another vote in objection was that of Royal F. Shepherd’s brother David A. Shepherd (1795-c.1830) for being under the legal voting age. The Committee found that after deducting the fraudulent votes in the petition, the election was overturned and George Savage became victor by three votes (157 to 154). On November 23rd, the findings of the Committee were presented to the House of Delegates for a final resolution. However, Mr. Chamberlayne used the same tactic as his opponent and scoured the poll results for fraud in favor of Mr. Savage, presenting the same to the House before their final vote on the matter on November 30th. This political drama concluded with the House amending the report of the Committee to include Mr. Chamberlayne’s new list, which astonishingly reversed the victory back to Mr. Chamberlayne as the winner by only two votes (154 to 152)! William B. Chamberlayne would preside as the Henrico County delegate for the House from 1816-1821.

In the notorious election of 1816, step-brothers David A. Shepherd and Samuel Smith Cottrell were publicly exposed as casting illegal votes that nearly overturned an election. This would have brought a degree of scorn on them and their family by a large segment of the public. When the November investigation by the Committee of Privileges and Elections began, in an effort to protect his son’s name, Samuel’s father, Charles W. Cottrell, issued his son a deed, retroactively dated to March 8, 1816, for 80 acres of his land in Henrico County near the coal pits. Unfortunately, the ruse did not fool the authorities as the deed had not previously been recorded by the County Court. As a result, Samuel’s vote was cast out and the authorities had the deed legally recorded on November 21st, making Samuel a freeholder in Henrico County which allowed him to rightfully vote in subsequent elections. Although Samuel’s step-brother David A. Shepherd (1795-c.1830) was just a few weeks shy of legally casting a vote in the November 1816 election, by February of 1817, he had reached the legal age of 21 years old, and could scoff off the whole event as over-eagerness to become an adult.

As a man of legal age, on February 3, 1817, David A. Shepherd sold his 116 acres of inherited land on Flat Branch and Deep Run, adjoining the lands of Royal F. Shepherd, Samuel Brown and Bullock, to his step-brother Samuel Smith Cottrell (1782-1855) for $1,400. This was Samuel’s first “true” land purchase. Ironically, in return, on November 10, 1817, Samuel Smith Cottrell and his wife Sarah sold, for $1600, the scandalous 80 acres of land near the coal pits, issued to him by his father, to David A. Shepherd! From all accounts, David would utilize this land to begin a small scale coal company.
 


Beginning in February of 1817, a series of tragic events befell the Cottrell and Sheppard family. The first occurred when Charles Sheppard Cottrell (1779-1817), the brother of Samuel Smith Cottrell and step-brother of Royal F. Shepherd, died at 37 years of age. Charles Sheppard Cottrell had married Eliza Potts on September 15, 1806, in Henrico County, and they had three children: John, Mary and Richard. On March 3, 1817, Royal F. Shepherd became the administrator of the estate, backed by Samuel Cottrell as surety on a $2000 bond. In May of 1818, Samuel Cottrell became the guardian of his three children.

The second tragic incident occurred in January of 1818, when another brother of Samuel Smith Cottrell and step-brother of Royal F. Shepherd, died. Benjamin Sheppard Cottrell (1792-1818) passed away at the age of 26 years old in Henrico County. There is no record of him having a wife or children. On February 2, 1818, Samuel Cottrell became the administrator of his estate, who with Peter Cottrell and David A. Shepherd gave bond in the amount of $3000 for the faithful performance of his duty.

The third tragedy that befell the Sheppard and Cottrell family also came in January of 1818, when their patriarch Charles W. Cottrell (1751-1818) passed away at the age of 67 years old. Charles was the son of Richard Cottrell (c.1710-1792) and Judith Smith (c.1715-1753) and had resided in Henrico County on Deep Run Creek since the 1730s. On September 4, 1777, during the Revolutionary War, Charles married Mary Shapard (1758-c.1799) in Goochland County, Virginia. Mary was the 19 year-old daughter of Samuel Shapard II (1729-1781) and Elizabeth Price, and the sister of Royal F. Shepherd’s father Samuel Shapard III [spelled later as Sheppard] (c. 1767-1795). One year later, Charles’ brother Peter Cottrell (1760-1815) married Susanna Shapard (1760-1807), sister of Mary Shapard (1758-c.1799), tightly intertwining the Shapard and Cottrell families. Charles and Mary had seven children whom survived to adulthood: Charles Sheppard Cottrell (1779-1817) married Eliza Potts in 1806; Samuel Smith Cottrell (1782-1855) married Sarah Warrock Shepherd (1797-1855) in 1816; Elizabeth Deborah Cottrell (1784-1853) married Samuel Cottrell (1781-1858) son of Peter and Susanna Cottrell; Judith “Judy” Cottrell (1787-1823) married Samuel Brown (1771-1847) in 1807; Martha Cottrell (1790-c.1825) married Thomas Cocke in 1809; Benjamin Sheppard Cottrell (1792-1818); and Mary “Polly” Cottrell (1792-1819) married Royal Fleming Shepherd (1789-1849).

In 1792, Charles inherited an abundance of wealth, in the form of land and slaves, from the will of his late father Richard Cottrell. Sometime between 1792 and 1799, Charles’ wife Mary Shapard (1758-c.1799) died, leaving him to care for their seven children. Around the same time, in the summer of 1795, Charles’ brother-in-law Samuel Shapard III [spelled later as Sheppard] (c. 1767-1795) also died leaving his widow Mary “Polly” (Allen) Sheppard (1769-1826) financially comfortable, yet with five children under the age of six years old: Royal F. Shepherd, Elizabeth P. Shepherd, Samuel Shepherd, Mary A. Shepherd and David A. Shepherd. On September 26, 1799, Charles W. Cottrell (1751-1818) married Mary “Polly” (Allen) Sheppard (1769-1826), being his former brother-in-law’s widow, merging the Cottrell and Shepherd children under one roof. By all accounts, Charles was a good provider for his family, and was blessed with affluence during his lifetime for his hard work.

His last will & testament, proved in Henrico County Court on February 2, 1818 by the oaths of Peter Cottrell and David A. Shepherd, stated; “I give to my beloved wife Mary Cottrell, for the duration of her life, the tract of land whereon I now live, and negros Daniel, Moll, Sally, Tom and 1/3 of household and kitchen furniture, 1/3 of crop of corn, wheat, oats, fodder, also 1/3 of pork, also 1/3 money. I give to my daughter Judy Brown negros Luckey and her children Bill, Stephen, John, Mary, Jane, Henry, Seloy, Claborne of which she has possession. I give to my daughter Elizabeth Cottrell negro Jenny, Nan and her child Archer of which is in her possession. I give to my daughter Martha Cock negro Poll and her child David, and negro Cynthia of which is in her possession. I give to my daughter Polly Shepherd negros Claibourn and Betty of which is in her possession. I give to my son Samuel Cottrell negros Joseph, Johnson and ½ land adjoining the Deep Run Coal pits. I give to my son Benjamin Cottrell negros Bob, Phillis and a sorrel mare, bed and furniture, cow and calf and after the death of my wife I give him the tract of land whereupon I now live. I give to my grandsons John Cottrell and Richard P. Cottrell children of my deceased son Charles Shepherd Cottrell, decd., the balance of my tract of land adjoining the Deep Run Coal Pits not given to my son Samuel Cottrell. I give to my granddaughter orphan of Charles Shepherd Cottrell negro Lucy and her children Bob, Moses and Amey and a negro Lewis. I give to my granddaughter Maria Brown, daughter of Samuel Brown negro named Dick. I give to my granddaughter Harriet Brown daughter of Samuel Brown negro Will. I give to my daughter Judy Brown $100. I give to my daughter Betsy Cottrell $100. I give to my daughter Patsey Cock $100. I give to my daughter Polly Shepherd $100. I give to my grandchildren orphans of my son Charles Cottrell Shepherd $100 to be equally divided between them. The balance I wish equally divided between son Samuel Cottrell, Benjamin Cottrell, Elizabeth Cottrell, Patsey Cock, Polly Shepherd, and one part for my three grandchildren John Cottrell, Richard P. Cottrell and Mary Cottrell…I appoint my son-in-law Samuel Cottrell and my son Samuel Cottrell and my son-in-law Royal F. Shepherd executors of this last will and testament.”

Charles W. Cottrell’s estate was laden with slaves, land, cash, household items and plantation goods and supplies. His sons-in-law Samuel Cottrell (1781-1858) and Royal F. Shepherd (1789-1849) became the administrators of the estate on February 2, 1818, granted by the County Court. Due to the vastness of his property, a bond was required of them for the astounding amount of $10,000 for the faithful performance of their duties. Peter Cottrell, David A. Shepherd and Edward C. Mayo vouched as sureties on the bond.

On February 19, 1818, a sale of the estate of the late Charles W. Cottrell was held at his plantation in Henrico County. As the administrator of estate, Royal F. Shepherd oversaw the event and acquired some items for himself. In particular he purchased a negro girl Phillis, cross saw, pole axe, cotton seed, flax, dressing glass [mirror], pillow cases, corn, crockeryware, bucket, iron pot, oats, cider casks, scythe & cradle, sheep sheers, decanter, 8 lbs. iron and parcel of plank board.

A fourth tragic event occurred in the fall of 1818, when Royal’s friend and brother-in-law, Jesse Ellis Redford (c.1790-1818), the husband of Elizabeth “Betsy” Price Shepherd died in Goochland County, Virginia. In an effort to help his sister, Royal F. Shepherd became the administer of her late husband’s estate. Their brother David A. Shepherd and their cousin Stephen Duvall were sureties in the amount of $10,000, backing Royal as Administrator. During the sale of his estate, Royal’s brother Samuel Shepherd (1792-1849) traveled from Richmond and purchased a negro girl named Sally for $300, a two-year lease on a negro man named Pharow for $110, a bond on Samuel Woodward for $19.62, and a crop of wheat for $164.08. Jesse’s widow Elizabeth remained in Goochland County on her widow’s dower of land until 1825. She then moved to Henrico County, living with or near her brother Royal F. Shepherd. On July 3, 1828, Elizabeth married widower Martin Pate (c. 1775-1845) of upper Henrico County. Interestingly, on January 5, 1829, Robert S. Redford and John F. Redford, orphans of Jesse Redford, chose their uncle Royal F. Shepherd as their guardian. Royal’s brother Samuel Shepherd was bound as security in the amount of $1000.


Finally, breaking the chain of tragic events that befell the Sheppard and Cottrell family, a joyful ceremony was held on August 7, 1818, for the marriage of David A. Shepherd (1795-c.1830) to Nancy Patmon (1800-1823). The bride was the daughter of Elizabeth Miller (?-1823) and the late Watson Patmon (?-1815). Her parents married circa 1792 and resided in Henrico County since that time. Their home residence was a large plantation in the Upper District of the county on the waters of Upham Brook, yet, they also invested in properties in the city of Richmond and Scuffletown. Mr. and Mrs. Patmon had five children whom survived to adulthood: William Patmon (1793-c.1845) married Sarah Winn (?-1852) and moved to Hanover County, Virginia in 1816; Cynthia Patmon (1795-1857) married Price Shoemaker (1789-1842) on April 30, 1811. As a wedding offer, Mr. and Mrs. Patmon sold them 60 acres from their land in 1811. About 1824, Cynthia and Price Shoemaker moved to Shelby County, Kentucky, before finally settling in Daviess County, Kentucky; Fleming Patmon (1797-c.1849) married Sarah “Sally” Miller Ryall on February 7, 1820. Fleming was appointed Constable of the Upper District of Henrico County for numerous terms. Nancy Patmon (1800-1823) married David A. Shepherd (1795-c.1830) on August 7, 1818; Elizabeth Patmon (1802-c.1845) married Thomas M. Shoemaker (1796-1863) on August 6, 1821. About 1823, Elizabeth and Thomas M. Shoemaker moved to Shelby County, Kentucky, before finally settling in Daviess County, Kentucky. Interestingly, Thomas M. Shoemaker and Price Shoemakers were brothers, and also the cousins of David A. Shepherd (1795-c.1830), as their parents were Thomas Shoemaker (1760-1821) and Frances Shapard (c. 1763-c.1801), being David’s uncle and aunt.

Another celebration occurred the day after Christmas on December 26, 1818 in the city of Richmond when Samuel Shepherd (1792-1849) married Miss Maria Davis (1798-1877). The bride was the daughter of Augustine Davis (1752-1825) and Martha Davenport (1756-1825).

Augustine Davis (1752-1825) was born in Yorktown Virginia in 1752. As a young man entered the printing trade at Williamsburg. In the mid-1780s, after the Revolutionary War, he opened his own printing office in the city of Richmond, being the newly established Virginia capitol. His newspaper went through numerous name changes over the years, before securing itself as the Virginia Gazette and General Advisor from 1790 to 1809. Augustine gained much clout with the most prominent men in America as his newspaper was the first in the city to print The Federalist essays in an effort to ratify the Constitution. Even George Washington himself made an association with Mr. Davis during this time. From1788 until 1802, he was the Postmaster of the city of Richmond. Augustine was appointed as the Public Printer of the Commonwealth of Virginia from 1791 until 1798, gaining lucrative printing contracts from the state government to publish their journals and laws. He became one of Richmond’s wealthiest and most influential men during this era. However, by 1809 his paper was in need of a rebrand, as sales had been in gradual decline. Davis hired a new editor and changed the name of his newspaper to the Virginia Patriot. In 1816, the name was altered again to the Virginia Patriot and Richmond Daily Mercantile Adviser when Augustine’s son George Davis (1788-1821) became his partner. In 1821, Augustine sold his printing office and newspaper, retiring in comfort until his death in November of 1825. He married Martha Davenport (1756-1825) on February 28, 1778, and they had 7 children: Edmund Davis (1779-1838) was married and had several children in Charleston, South Carolina; Augustine Davis, Jr., (1781-1793) drowned at age 12 while swimming; John Davis (1783-1806) died at 23 years of age; George Davis (1788-1821) bachelor died at his father’s house at 33 years old a few months after his father retired from printing; Harriett Davis (1796-1875) married Master Commodore Thomas Tarlton Webb (1796-1853) on February 28, 1818; Maria Davis (1798-1877) married Samuel Shepherd (1792-1849) on December 26, 1818; Matilda Davis (c.1800-?) married Dr. Charles T. Davis on February 23, 1829.

Samuel Shepherd (1792-1849) certainly would have known Augustine Davis (1752-1825) through the printing community of Richmond, as well as, his son George Davis (1788-1821). It is quite possible that Samuel may have even worked for them when he first moved to Richmond in 1813, typesetting for the Virginia Patriot. Regardless of how they first met, Samuel’s father-in-law certainly valued him as a suitable husband and provider for his daughter; perhaps seeing a lot of himself in the endeavors of young Samuel.


About a year prior to his marriage, Samuel Shepherd and his partner William Pollard made a business association with Thomas Ritchie (1778-1854), who was the editor and owner of the Richmond Enquirer newspaper from 1804 to 1845, and had recently been elected as the Public Printer for the Commonwealth of Virginia in 1815. Mr. Ritchie had more work than his printing office could manage so he subcontracted with Shepherd & Pollard to print the government jobs. Over the years, Samuel became very skilled and proficient at the specific type of printing required for legal and government documents and invested heavily in the necessary equipment, which set his office apart from the others in Richmond. In 1823, Samuel’s partner William Pollard acquired the majority interest in the 
Richmond Compiler newspaper, and, in turn, became a less involved as a partner in Shepherd & Pollard. In May of 1827, the firm named changed to Samuel Shepherd & Co. when Mr. Pollard sold his partnership to Thomas Ritchie, who as Public Printer continued to provide much work for the firm.

Around this time, Whig members of the Virginia General Assembly, who were politically opposed to Thomas Ritchie as a Democrat, began to favor the idea of appointing Samuel Shepherd as the Public Printer since he had always performed the actual printing and politically favored the Whig party. Their efforts culminated in December of 1834, when Samuel Shepherd was elected as Public Printer of the Commonwealth of Virginia by the legislature in a vote of 87 to 75. Samuel was distraught by the arrangement which brought an end to his eight-year partnership with Mr. Ritchie. Samuel bought out Mr. Ritchie’s interest in the firm and then partnered with John B. Colin. They continued to conduct business at the office formerly occupied by Samuel Shepherd & Co., on 13th Street next to the Eagle 
Hotel, until 1844, when Samuel invested in a new three-story brick building equipped with a book-bindery on 11th Street opposite the Capital Square. Interestingly, in December of 1835, Thomas Ritchie was reelected as the Public Printer for the next two years, yet, he declined his second term. Therefore, in December of 1836, the Assembly voted to reinstate Samuel Shepherd to the office, a position he would hold until his resignation in 1849. It was said by his peers that there was no better printer than Samuel Shepherd in the Union.

Aside from his printing endeavors, Samuel was elected as a councilman of Madison Ward in Richmond, as well as, being a Committee Member of the Common Hall in April of 1826. He was honored, in 1831, with the commission of Captain of Infantry in the Richmond Virginia Militia.

Over the years, Samuel provided a comfortable life for his family, and became the wealthiest of his brothers. Interestingly, the tangible value of his 2/3 ownership in his printing company and book bindery only amounted to $2,400 and $400. The majority of his wealth was earned through the production of his press, specifically through his government contracts. Samuel Shepherd also invested well during his lifetime. As early as 1820, he purchased five shares in the Richmond Turnpike Company at a public auction in front of the Eagle Hotel for a total of $130. In 1829, he purchased his three-story brick office building on E (Main) Street and 11Th Street in the city of Richmond, being part of Lot No. 376, from the estate of his late father-in-law Augustine Davis for $4,510. By 1851, a house had been constructed on the property next to the building and the value had increased to $11,000. In 1834, he purchased 282 ½ acre of prime real estate in Henrico County along the James River, bound by the Westham Turnpike Road. The land was offered to Samuel exclusive of the James River Company for the considerable amount of $9,000. Records indicate that Samuel sold this land in 1838, yet, no deed has been located indicating to whom it was sold or the amount. He also carried shares of Chesterfield Rail Road Company stock, City of Richmond stock and Virginia State stock.

A moderate amount of wealth was also tied up in living property such as slaves and horses. Samuel, like his brothers, had always been a member of the slaveholding class. In 1798, at six years of age, Samuel was bequeathed his first slave by the settlement of his late father’s estate. In 1823, he purchased a negro girl Sally for $300. By 1830, he had five slaves: one male between the age of 25 to 35 years, one female under 10 years old, one female between the age of 10 to 23 years, one female 24 to 35 years old and one female between 36 to 54 years of age. In 1836, he acquired 7 slaves, being the greatest number he would ever manage, as well as, owning 8 horses. In 1840 he had four slaves: one male and one female 24 to 35 years of age and two females between the age of 36 to 54 years. Samuel’s slaves were clearly used as house servants and to assist in his printing business.

Samuel Shepherd and his wife Maria (Davis) had six children that survived to adulthood: Julia Ann Shepherd (1820-1898) married David W. Fisher (1811-1846) on September 28, 1841, and after his death married James T. Goode (1824-1861) in 1851; Martha Shepherd (1823-1901) married John M. Quinn (?-1851) on April 4, 1843, and after his death married Louis Bremond (1828-1892) on November 15, 1852; Edmund Shepherd (1826-1856) married Delia Ann Webb (1828-1907) on November 1, 1849; Samuel Shepherd (1832-1857); Maria Lousia Shepherd (1834-1881) married Dr. Thomas Harold Wilson Upshur (1829-1890) circa 1850; and John Shepherd (1840-?).

One child of particular interest was their son Edmund Shepherd (1826-1856). As a young boy, Edmund held great admiration for his uncle Captain Thomas Tarleton Webb (1796-1853). Captain Webb had entered the U.S. Navy as a Midshipmen on January 1, 1808. At the end of the War of 1812, he was promoted to Lieutenant on December 19, 1814. From 1815 to 1818 he was stationed aboard the 38-gun frigate the Macedonian, that had been captured from the British during the War of 1812 and recommissioned for use as a United States Navy vessel in 1813. Aboard the Macedonian, he saw action in the U.S.-Algerian War as part of a ten-ship squadron commanded by Commodore Stephen Decatur. In September of 1818, while patrolling the Atlantic Ocean, the Macedonian endured the terrors of a hurricane that collapsed her main mast, nearly sinking her until she reached Norfolk, Virginia, for repairs. He was promoted again on March 8, 1831, to Master Commandant, and then to Captain on March 8, 1841. Capt. Webb married Harriett Davis (1796-1875) on February 28, 1818, the daughter of Augustine Davis (1752-1825). They had eight children that survived to adulthood: Virginia Webb (1819-1858) married Admiral John Randolph Tucker; Martha Ann Webb (1820-1906) married John Purcell of Richmond; Harriett Augusta Webb (1822-1908) married Thomas Riley; William Augustus Webb (1824-1881) commanded the Atlanta in Mobile Bay and was taken prisoner of war after it was grounded by federal artillery, he married his cousin Elizabeth Anne Fleming; Lewis Warrington Webb (1826-1883) married Miss Jamison then Lucy Bigger; Delia Ann Webb (1828-1907) married Edmund Shepherd, then Oscar Cranz. Mary Randolph (1831-1900) married Admiral James A. Greer, USN; George Fleming Shield Webb (1833-1856) married Miss Royall.

On October 19, 1841, shortly after Thomas Tarleton Webb received the rank of Captain, his nephew, Edmund Shepherd, at 15 years of age, entered the U.S. Navy as a Midshipmen, and was stationed on a receiving ship at Norfolk, Virginia. In 1843, he was stationed on the sloop Vandalia. On April 8, 1844, he was admitted to the Navy Hospital in Norfolk for cerebral fever and was discharged on the 18th. In 1845, he was stationed to the sloop Cyane, commanded by S.F. Du Pont, upon which he would experience the most exciting moments of his career.


The United States sloop-of-war Cyane was on the west coast of Mexico when the Mexican-American War (1846-1848) broke out. The crew participated in the capture of Monterey, they engaged the enemy at Mesa and Rio Gabriel and crippled the enemy’s gunship, the brig Condor, at Guaymas while taking heavy fire. They disrupted the enemy’s shipping in the Gulf of California and blockaded the ports of San Blas and Mazatlán. While at Mazatlán a blockade run was attempted by the enemy ships, yet the gunners of the Cyane engaged their cannon and defeated the attempt. Under the command of Capt. Du Pont, one hundred members of the crew came to shore, in the face of an overwhelming force of the enemy, and made their way two miles, under constant fire, to successfully relieve the garrison at San Jose. The garrison, commanded by Lt. Haywood, had been surrounded by the enemy for 20 days and was in great distress of being seized. Captain Du Pont and his men then pursued the enemy into the interior of the country capturing their commander-in-chief and twenty prisoners. In all, the crew of the Cyane was involved in seven battles, and only lost one officer and one enlisted man, with many wounded.

After Edmund returned home from his tour aboard the Cyane in May of 1848, he entered the Navy School at Annapolis, where, in 1849, he passed his examination to reach the rank of a Passed Midshipmen. On November 1, 1849, Edmund Shepherd married his first cousin Miss Delia Ann Webb (1828-1907), the daughter of Capt. Thomas Tarleton Webb (1796-1853) and Harriett Davis (1796-1875). In 1850, Edmund was appointed as a Passed Midshipmen to the brig Perry, commanded by Lieutenant Commandant Andrew H. Foote. In May of 1851, he was stationed on the storeship Relief docked at the Brooklyn Navy Yard in New York, when an incident occurred, whereby, he was wrongfully charged with desertion, and was dismissed from the service. Stunned, Edmund fought the decision of the Navy Board, and early in 1852, his case was presented before President Millard Fillmore (1800-1874), by the Hon. Secretary of the Navy. The result was favorable and Edmund was actively restored to Passed Midshipmen. His next appointment was in the Mediterranean Squadron aboard the frigate Cumberland being the Flag Ship of the fleet, commanded by Commodore Silas H. Stringham. On February 28, 1855, Congress passed an act reducing the number of officers in the U.S. Navy. Unfortunately, Edmund was retired from service on September 13, 1855, and attempted life on land at his home in Norfolk. Tragically, only five months later, Edmund suffered a wound that became severely infected and he died at the age of only 30 years old on February 17, 1856, leaving a widow and no children. Although his life was short, he clearly lived an extraordinary one.


THE SHEPHERD FAMILY of HENRICO COUNTY, VIRGINIA, especially pertaining to the life events of ROYAL FLEMING SHEPHERD (1789-1850): Chapter 2

CHAPTER 2: THE WAR OF 1812

1812-1815
 



On June 18, 1812, the United States of America, under President James Madison, declared war with Great Britain. The war began due to the British encroachment on American vessels at sea in an effort to prevent them from trading with France, who at the time was also at war with Great Britain. In addition, the British had ties with many Indian tribes and would trade arms with them for goods. American sentiment disfavored the British for supplying the weapons that the Indians would then use to make raids on American settlers. The war was fought from 1812 until 1815, mostly along the United States/Canadian border, as Canada was still a British colony. However, the British attempted invasions in Virginia, New York, Baltimore and New Orleans. Inland, the British allied with the Creek Indian Tribe, inciting them to make raids on American settlements.

Back in Henrico County only a few miles from the city of Richmond, life for the Shepherd family was fairly normal during the start of the War of 1812. Children were being reared, crops were being managed and the livestock tended. However, there was the growing reality that war was coming to their doorsteps; and parallel to the war for independence, fought by their fathers and grandfathers only 37 years before, the British would again be battled on American soil.

In June of 1813, Henrico County and the vicinity around the city of Richmond was in alarm as British warships blockaded the Chesapeake Bay, capturing or sinking many vessels that attempted to pass. Alarm turned to panic when the British vessels unloaded a land force, commencing a series of invasions into eastern Virginia. In all, the Virginia Militia would confront British troops in over forty engagements in the state before the war’s end. Martial law was issued and militia regiments came from the surrounding areas to protect the city of Richmond. In July of 1814, the city and surrounding countryside was again in alarm as a large fleet of British reinforcements reached the Chesapeake. Many feared the city would be in ashes before the war’s end, so they moved their valuables and furniture to the country. In August of 1814, word reached Richmond that a large fleet of British ships with 7,000 to 8,000 men had entered the bay at Norfolk, Virginia, and it was rightfully feared they were on their way to attack Baltimore or Washington. The greatest panic for the city of Richmond and Henrico County came in September of 1814. The British had bombarded Baltimore and burned the White House, Treasury and Capitol; scattering President Madison’s government to the countryside. After the British left Washington D.C., the fleet vanished, many believing they were on their way to Richmond. Most of the residents fled the city, as militia troops by the thousands poured in from all over. All wagons, boats and needed supplies were conscripted for public use in defense of the city. The British did not attack, and the city of Richmond and Henrico County was gratefully spared from the anticipated destruction.

During this era, the U.S. armed services, being a full-time paid occupation, was restrained to a reserved number of men; as a large army, in times of peace, was viewed as a potential treat to liberty. To compensate for this weakness in defense, each State instituted their own militia units, which was a required duty of participation for all able-bodied free white men generally between 16 to 50 years of age. Most Virginia militia units would assemble once a month (except in January and February) for drills and a public parade starting at 11 am. Each company, comprised of 32 to 68 men, were commanded by a captain, two lieutenants and an ensign of the county in which they resided. Companies were formed into battalions of between 500 to 1000 men, commanded by a colonel, lieutenant colonel and major. And all the battalions were under the command of a county lieutenant.

In 1812 at the start of the war, Royal F. Shepherd was 23 years of age and his brother Samuel Shepherd was 20 years of age. Both were both privates in the 1st Battalion, 33rd Regiment, Virginia State Militia. Their younger brother David A. Shepherd was 17 years old, and, although no military service records for him have been located, it is likely he also was a private in this militia. On May 9, 1814, Royal was promoted to the office of Ensign in the Rife Company, 1st Battalion, 33rd Regiment, Virginia State Militia; Whereupon, he took an oath, in front of Judge Samuel Brown (1771–1847), stating that he was a citizen of Virginia and would faithfully and justly execute the duties of his office to the best of his skill and judgment. The Commonwealth of Virginia required all ensigns to be armed with a sword, as a distinguishment of rank, each time their company came to muster. Royal would keep the rank of Ensign throughout the War of 1812. It is of interest to note that Royal's father Samuel Shapard III (later spelled as Sheppard) had also been a member of the 1st Battalion, 33rd Regiment, Virginia State Militia, reaching the rank of Lieutenant on June 1, 1795.

Royal’s brother Samuel Shepherd perhaps saw the most action during the war. Samuel Shepherd had little aspiration of becoming a planter, and instead sought his success in the city of Richmond, Virginia. On April 5, 1813, when Samuel turned 21 years of age, he sold his inherited land on the waters of Deep Run for $855 to Charles Woodward (1769-1825), the brother of his former guardian Samuel Woodward (1762-1828), and moved to Richmond. At that time, Richmond had a population of 9,875 inhabitants and was a bustling and exciting location for a young man of some wealth. Here Samuel heeded President Madison’s ‘call to arms’ by joining a volunteer militia regiment, that was subsequently sent to the Niagara frontier. His exploits were later recorded in the Richmond newspapers; “When war hovered over our country, and the enemy’s fleet was on our coast, he [Samuel Shepherd] took up arms to aid in the defense of the nation, and served with a musket on his shoulder in the ranks of the country’s defenders.” “Mr. Shepherd marched to Canada during the war…” After the war, Samuel continued his duty as a militiaman and, in 1831, he became Captain of the Infantry in Richmond.

Royal F. Shepherd remained in Henrico County during the war. On December 8, 1812, he was appointed as the Constable for the Upper District of Henrico County for a term of two years. Constables were law enforcement officers, appointed for each district within a county, by the Justices of the County Court. Royal may have been selected for the office by his former guardian Samuel Brown (1771–1847), who, at the time, was a Justice of Henrico County. The duties of the office entailed assisting the courts with the fulfilment of their orders and assisting the sheriff. Although the office had no set salary, constables were paid a specific fee by the county for each item rendered, such as, delivering subpoenas, administering court ordered punishments, etc. Royal’s cousin Stephen Duvall (1782-1850), son of Elizabeth Shapard (c.1755-?) and Joseph Duvall (?-1800), backed Royal in the amount of $1500 as his security for the faithful performance of the office. He was also backed by his brother-in-law Samuel Cottrell (1782-1855), brother of Royal’s wife Polly Cottrell, for the same amount. 

As the emerging patriarch of the family, Royal F. Shepherd was motivated by love, honor and duty to assist his immediate family and extended family as needed. One of his most challenging moments came when his uncle Reuben Sheppard (1772-1813), died in June of 1813, at 41 years of age, leaving a widow and nine children spanning the ages of 19 years old to four years old. Royal had a special affection for his uncle Reuben and aunt Sally, as they had cared for him as a child when his father passed away. Over the following years, Royal would return the favor by playing an integral part in caring for his widowed aunt and her children.

At the time of his death, Reuben Sheppard had two separate parcels of land on Deep Run, one 35-acre tract was bordered by the land of Royal F. Shepherd, and the other was bordered by Mr. Tinsley, being 82 acres. Reuben also had four slaves: a negro woman Nancy, negro woman Gene, negro boy Peter and a negro boy Sam. His other property included 3 cows, 5 sheep, 2 horses, and an array of furniture, kitchenware, tools and tack. Interestingly, it would not be until November of 1815, that Reuben’s widow Sally would be allotted her dowers portion of slaves (1/3 of the slaves). The County Court ordered Royal F. Shepherd, Charles Woodward, Samuel Cottrell and William Henley to make the appropriate dowers allotment and then sell at public auction the residue of slaves. The profit of which would be equally divided among the rightful heirs.

On July 5, 1813 Reuben Sheppard’s eldest daughter, 19-year-old Nancy, chose Richardson Jones (1791-1878) to be her guardian, which was granted by the court. Richardson and Nancy had been courting each other prior to the death of her father. Only eleven days later, on July 16, 1813, Nancy Shepherd and Richardson Jones were married in Henrico County. The wedding was a bitter sweet moment, no doubt feeling the absence of her father. Interestingly, Richardson was a member of Capt. Hezekiah Hendley’s 33rd Regiment of Virginia Militia Volunteers, known as the “Riflemen,” and, shortly after their marriage he was called to defend Norfolk Virginia against the British invasion. After the war, Nancy and Richardson moved to Shelby County, Kentucky for many years, before settling permanently in Daviess County, Kentucky, circa 1835.

By 1814, Royal F. Shepherd had increased his slave holdings to four slaves. Three of his slaves were over the age of 16 years, and one of his slaves was between the ages of 12 to 16. Royal had three horses, which was a luxury for a man his age. He was still residing in the Upper District of Henrico County on his 100 acres that adjoined his brother David A. Shepherd’s 116 acres and his sister Mary A. Shepherd’s 104 acres.

 
A cause for celebration occurred on March 14, 1814, when Royal’s 23-year-old sister Mary “Polly” A. Shepherd married Jacob Hopkins (1790-1825). Royal clearly approved of the marriage as he was not only the ward of his sister, but he also agreed to be the surety on the marriage bond. Jacob was the eldest child of William Hopkins (c.1766-c.1832) and Elizabeth Moon (?-c.1811), and may have been the same Jacob Hopkins that was a Private in the War of 1812, being a substitution for Richard Glass in Capt. Abram Buford’s Co. 8th Regt., 4th Brigade, Goochland County. Soon after their wedding, Jacob and his new bride Mary moved to Fluvanna County, Virginia. On December 20, 1815, Mary sold her 104 acres of inherited land on Deep Run to a group of men from Henrico County. Tragically, Jacob Hopkins died before February in 1825 at the approximate age of 35 years old. Jacob’s father William Hopkins (c.1766-c.1832) was appointed guardian of Samuel (1818-?), William (1820-1905), Alexander (1823-1849), Elizabeth (1821-1874) and John Hopkins (1824-1891), orphans of Jacob Hopkins. By January of 1842, the children were all living in Richmond Virginia and their uncle Royal F. Shepherd had become their guardian, with their other uncle Samuel Shepherd as surety. However, by 1844, the orphan William Hopkins (1820-1905) had come of age and became the guardian of his siblings. It is unclear in the records when their mother Mary A. “Polly” (Shepherd) Hopkins died, though it appears to have been between 1825 and 1850.

Less than a month later, as the War of 1812 was in its final ten months, another marriage occurred within the Shepherd family. On April 4, 1814, Royal’s cousin, Elizabeth Shepherd (1796-?), the 18-year-old daughter of Sarah “Sally” (Cocke) (?-1822) and the late Reuben Sheppard (1772-1813), married James Patterson (c.1795-?) in Henrico County. Due to his youthful age only 19 years-old, James needed the consent of his father, John Patterson, to legally obtain the marriage bond. In 1817, James and Elizabeth sold 8 acres of land she inherited from her late father’s estate to Samuel Cottrell, Jr., for $100. Royal F. Shepherd was a witness to the transfer of land, as well as Martin Pate and Thomas Ford. The couple appears to have resided in Henrico County, though after 1825 information about them is sparce.

On February 17, 1815, Congress ratified the Treaty of Ghent, concluding the war. During the course of the War of 1812, the British, Canadians and Indians had been repelled; the White House had been burned on August 24, 1814, Francis Scott Key had penned ‘The Star-Spangled Banner’ during the bombardment of Baltimore on September 14, 1814, and no land had been won or lost. Despite the stalemate outcome, Americans felt satisfied, arousing an era of great patriotism.

Sunday, January 23, 2022

THE SHEPHERD FAMILY of HENRICO COUNTY, VIRGINIA, especially pertaining to the life events of ROYAL FLEMING SHEPHERD (1789-1850): Chapter 1

                                CHAPTER 1: THE EARLY YEARS 1789-1811

Royal Fleming Shepherd (1789-1850) was born on January 12, 1789, approximately 10 miles northwest of the city of Richmond, in Henrico County, Virginia. He was the eldest child of Samuel Shapard III [spelled later as Sheppard] (c. 1767-1795) and Mary “Polly” Allen, who married in Henrico County, Virginia on December 3, 1787. Royal was the grandson of Samuel Shapard II (c.1729-1781) and Elizabeth (Price) (?-c.1776), and the great-grandson of Samuel Shapard (c.1700-1751) of King and Queen County, Virginia. 

Royal’s infancy coincided with a fascinating time in the youth of the United States of America and the State of Virginia. Although the Constitution was ratified on June 21, 1788, less than one year before Royal birth, the United States was still transitioning from the original framework of 1781, known as the Articles of Confederation. Interestingly, there was no president under the original system, only representatives from each state.  Royal was born three months before our first United States president, George Washington (1732-1799), would be elected and take office on April 30, 1789. The federal seat of government at this time was transitory: Congress met in Philadelphia in 1781 until 1783; then moved to Princeton, New Jersey, in June of 1783; then to Annapolis, Maryland, in November of 1783; then to Trenton, New Jersey, in November of 1784; then to New York from 1785 until 1789; then back to Philadelphia from 1790 until 1799; and finally moved to the city of Washington [Washington D.C.] in 1800 with the completion of the White House.

Closer to home for the Sheppard family, in 1780, during the Revolutionary War, the General Assembly moved the Virginia capital from Williamsburg to temporary quarters at Richmond in Henrico County. Seven months before the birth of Royal F. Shepherd, Virginia was admitted to the Union, on June 25, 1788, as the tenth state. That same year, a permanent capital building, designed by Thomas Jefferson, was constructed at Richmond. Interestingly, Virginia would produce four of the first five presidents of the United States. It is fascinating to consider that during the lifetime of Royal F. Shepherd and his siblings, it is highly likely that they would have seen or even personally met some of these great men of history. 



During colonial times, in 1757, Royal’s grandparents, Samuel Shapard II (c.1729-1781) and his wife Elizabeth (Price) (?-c.1776), moved from Goochland County, Virginia, seven miles, to Henrico County, Virginia, settling on 258 acres of quality land in the divide of Flat Creek and Deep Run Creek, ten miles northwest of Richmond. Elizabeth died between 1775 to 1781, and Samuel Shapard II died during the Revolutionary War in 1781, before November 19th, apparently a wealthy man, having land, livestock and slaves. They had eight children whom survived to adulthood: Mildred (c.1753-?) married William Coutts (1740-1787) on September 28, 1775; Elizabeth (c.1755-?) married Joseph Duvall (?-1800) on September 24, 1773; Mary (c.1758-c.1799) married Charles W. Cottrell (1751-1818) on September 4, 1777; Susanna (c.1760-1807) married Peter Cottrell (1760-1815), brother of Charles W. Cottrell (1751-1818), on November 6, 1778; Frances (c.1763-c.1801) married Thomas Shoemaker (1760-1821) on November 19, 1781; Hannah (c.1765-?) married Shadrack Walker (1759-1826) on April 12, 1783; Samuel (c.1767-1795) married Mary “Polly” Allen (c.1769-1826) on December 3, 1787; Reuben (1772-1813) married Sarah “Sally” Cocke (?-1822) on April 24, 1793; and William (1775-1799) married Fanny Shaw on July 9, 1797.

It is interesting to note that, in this line of the family, the Shapard surname began to fade to the more common “Sheppard” and “Shepherd” spelling after the death of Samuel Shapard II (1729-1781), in 1781. At the time of their father’s death, the three sons of Samuel II were only children: Samuel (1767-1795) was approximately thirteen years of age, and was placed under the guardianship of his brother-in-law, Charles W. Cottrell (1751-1818), who had married Samuel’s sister Mary, to be raised and educated; Reuben (1772-1813) was approximately nine years old, and William (1775-1799) was only six years of age. Both Ruben and William were placed under the guardianship of their brother-in-law Joseph Duvall who had married their sister Elizabeth, to be raised and educated. During this era, spelling was highly variable, and it is likely that Samuel’s daughters Mary and Elizabeth were illiterate, thus their unique surname spelling was lost in their households to more common variants. For the sake of simplicity, Royal Shepherd’s father’s generation shall be indicated as “Sheppard”, and Royal’s generation shall be identified as “Shepherd.”

In June of 1782, their father’s estate was equally divided between all of his children by the courts, as he died intestate and of moderate wealth in land, slaves, livestock and goods. Pertaining to his sons, Samuel Sheppard received two negros Sarah and Annis, six head of cattle, ninety pounds of cotton in the seed, 522 pounds gross pork, four pounds wool, four dishs and plates, one bed, cash to receive-£42.19.8. Reuben Sheppard received three negros Ann, Sukey and Shadrick, six head of cattle, ninety pounds of cotton in the seed, 524 pounds gross pork, four pounds wool, five plates and two old basons, one bed, cash to receive-£26.19.2. And William Sheppard received one negro man John, six head of cattle, ninety pounds of cotton in the seed, 504 pounds gross pork, four pounds wool, four plates and one basons, one bed, cash to receive-£37.4.2. All the estate was to be maintained by the guardians for the benefit of the boys until they came of age, at 21 years old.

Samuel, Reuben and William all grew up together and, during their early adulthood, lived near one other on their respective division of their father’s land. On December 3, 1787, at 20 years of age, Samuel married Mary “Polly” Allen (1769-1826), the daughter of David Allen (deceased) and Mary Allen (?-1800). On January 12, 1789, they had their first child, a son named Royal Fleming Shepherd (1789-1850). In 1790, they were blessed with another baby, a daughter Elizabeth “Betsy” Price Shepherd (1790-?). In 1791, they would have another son, Samuel Shepherd (1792-1849). In 1793, they would have another daughter, Mary “Polly” A. Shepherd (1793-?) who would marry Jacob Hopkins (?-c.1825). And in 1795, they would have their last child, a son named David A. Shepherd (1795-c.1830).


Royal Fleming Shepherd grew up in an agricultural setting in the crook of Flat Creek and Deep Run Creek just ten miles to the northwest of the growing city of Richmond, in the Upper District of Henrico County. Royal was surrounded by immediate and extended family on the neighboring plantations. The Cottrell, Cocke, Brown and Duvall families that resided nearby were also interconnected to the Sheppard family through a long line of marriages. In 1793, Royal’s uncle Reuben Sheppard (1772-1813) married Sarah “Sally” Cocke (?-1822). They would have nine children who survived to adulthood: Nancy (1794-1873) married Richardson Jones (1791-1878), Elizabeth (c.1796-?) married James Patterson (c.1795-?), Sarah (1797-1855) married Samuel Smith Cottrell (1782-1855), Jane (1799-?), Mildred (1800-c.1830) married Royal Fleming Shepherd (1789-1850), Reuben, Jr. (1803-1892) married Susan G. Jordan (1809-1894), Richard C. (c.1805-c.1842) married Elizabeth Johnson (1816-?), Lucinda (1807-1877) married Thomas Duke (c.1790-c.1875), Robert (1809-1849) married Mary A. Shepherd (c.1811-c.1833), and. Royal would remain very close with these cousins in the future.

Sadly, around July 10, 1795, Royal’s father Samuel Shapard III (spelled later as Sheppard) (1767-1795) died in Henrico County, at the age of 28 years old. Royal, being the eldest child, was only six years of age when his father died. Samuel Woodward (1762-1828) became the administrator of the estate, settling the affairs for the widow, and he also became the guardian of the five Shepherd children. Samuel Woodward was the children’s uncle, by way of his marriage to Elizabeth Ann Allen (1762-?) on March 29, 1783, being the sister of the widow Mary “Polly” (Allen) Sheppard. Records indicate that Samuel Woodard resided in Goochland County, Virginia.

During his young life, Samuel Shapard III (spelled later as Sheppard) (1767-1795) had become financially successful through hard work and good relationships. His probate records show he had 540 acres of land, eight slaves and numerous livestock and a large quantity of household goods. On March 9, 1798, the courts divided his estate among his widow and five children: Mary “Polly” Sheppard received a widow’s third of the real and personal estate, being 135 acres of land; one negro woman Annis, one negro boy Porter, one negro boy David, one bay mare, one cow and calf, one yearling, one sow, one bed and furniture, one chest and one looking glass.



The children drew lots to determine their inheritance. David A. Shepherd drew lot No. 1, being 116 acres, one negro girl Maryann, one bed and six chairs. Mary “Polly” A. Shepherd drew lot No. 2, being 104 ½ acres, one negro woman Sary, one bed, eleven shoats and one side saddle. Elizabeth “Betsy” Price Shepherd drew lot No. 3, being 51 acres, one negro girl Nancey, young bay mare, one red and white cow and calf, one black and white cow, one black horse and one bleu chest. Royal Fleming Shepherd drew lot No. 4, being 49 acres, one negro man Dick, one negro boy Talton, one bed, one red and white cow and calf, one red yearling, one bleu table, one decanter and trunk, books and slate. Samuel Shepherd drew lot No. 5, being 84 ½ acres, one negro Ben, one walnut table, and one sugar box.

It appears that after the death of Royal’s father, his uncle Reuben (1772-1813) and aunt Sally cared for him greatly, fostering an affection that would last a lifetime. Royal also developed a profound life friendship with his younger cousins, especially Reuben Jr., Richard C., and Robert, of whom he spent a great deal of time with during his youth. On September 26, 1799, Royal’s mother, Mary “Polly” Sheppard married Charles W. Cottrell (1751-1818). Charles was initially Royal Shepherd’s uncle, however after he was widowed by his first wife Mary Shapard (1758- c. 1799), he married Mary “Polly” (Allen) Sheppard to became Royal’s step-father. At the time of his mother’s marriage, Royal would have been ten years of age. Royal received an ample education in youth, being taught reading, writing and arithmetic, as well as, being trained in the aspects of farming and plantation management. There was also a merging together of the Shepherd and Cottrell children via this new marriage, creating lifelong friendships and even a more intimate relationship.

                After June 4th, in 1799, Royal’s other uncle, William Sheppard, who had married Frances “Fanny” Shaw on June 9, 1796, died at the age of 24 years. There is no record of any children from the union of William and Fanny Sheppard. In August of 1800, his widow married Mr. William Vaughn of Henrico County. Tragically, it appears that this marriage was also cut short, as records indicate that William Vaughn died in January of 1806. Beyond this, it is unknown what became of Frances “Fanny” Shaw.

                Nationally, during this era, George Washington (1732-1799) retired his presidency in 1797 to John Adams (1735-1826), after which, Washington moved to his Mount Vernon plantation in Fairfax County, Virginia, until his death in 1799. In 1801, Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826), the former Governor of Virginia (1779-1781), Congressman and Founding Father, would become president until 1809. Of particular importance for the United States was Jefferson’s purchase the Louisiana Territory from the French government, in 1803, consisting of 820,000 square miles of land west of the Mississippi River. Prior to this, Americans were settling the lands east of the Mississippi River, however, this new territory allowed for vast expansion westward, wrought with great opportunity, peril and adventure.   

                On September 3, 1804, Royal F. Shepherd and his sister Elizabeth Price Shepherd petitioned the justices of the Henrico County Court for Samuel Brown (1771-1847) to be their guardian, which the court granted. The Browns and the Shapards had not only lived near each other in in the upper district of Henrico County since the 1780s, but there were previous familiar connections. The earliest link between the families stemmed from Royal F. Shepherd’s aunt Mildred Shapard (c. 1753 - ?) who married a Samuel Brown (?- bef. 1775) of Goochland County, Virginia. After Samuel Brown’s early death, Royal’s aunt Mildred then married Rev. William Coutts on September 28, 1775 in St. James Parrish of Goochland County. Interestingly, in 1772, Rev. Coutts presided over the marriage of Thomas Jefferson to Martha Wayles Skelton, for which Jefferson paid him £5.     

The Samuel Brown whom was petitioned as a guardian by Royal F. Shepherd and his sister Elizabeth, was Samuel Brown (1771 – 1847) of Henrico County that purchased 10 ¾ acres of land on Deep Run Creek from Reuben Sheppard and his wife Sally in February 1804. Samuel would become a very influential figure in Henrico County, being elected as a Judge in 1812, until resigning his office in 1823. Interestingly, Samuel Brown and Royal F. Shepherd would marry sisters via Samuel’s marriage on July 22, 1807 to Judith Cottrell (1787-1823), who also happened to be Royal’s cousin. [Her mother was Mary Shapard (c. 1758 – c. 1799) who married Charles W. Cottrell (1751-1818) in 1777]. After Judith’s death in 1823, Samuel Brown married Ann M. Cottrell on March 24, 1824.

In 1807, Henrico County assessors recorded the land tax for the year, documenting the real estate owned by the Sheppard family. Royal F. Shepherd was taxed on 49 acres. Elizabeth “Betsy” Shepherd was taxed on 51 acres. Samuel Shepherd was taxed on 84 ½ acres. David A. Shepherd was taxed on 116 acres, and Mary Shepherd was taxed on 104 acres. Their uncle Reuben Sheppard was taxed on 35 acres and an additional lot of 84 ½ acres, as well as one slave over the age of 16 years.

Interestingly, during this same time period, their uncle Samuel Woodward was making his guardian’s account to the court on Samuel Shepherd, Polly Shepherd and David A. Shepherd. According to these returns, the children’s land and slaves were rented out for the year as a source of income. Items, such as, clothing, education and board were deducted from their accounts. Samuel Shepherd spent £6.14.9 on clothing for the year and accrued £2.14.0 in land rent and £15.0.0 from the lease of his negro man. Mary “Polly” Shepherd spent £1.14.3 on clothing, £12.0.0 on boarding, yet, received an income of £5.5.0 for the hire of her negro woman and £1.10.0 for the rent of her land. David A. Shepherd spent £2.19.17 on clothing and $15.0.0 on boarding and schooling, however, produced an income of $6.4.6 from the hire of his negro woman, and $16.10.0 from the rent of his land.



On November 30, 1808, the first of the Shepherd children entered into the bonds of matrimony. At 18 years of age, Elizabeth “Betsy” Price Shepherd married Jesse Ellis Redford (c.1790-1818) in Goochland County, Virginia. Her guardian Samuel Brown (1771–1847) consenting to the union. Elizabeth was illiterate, signing her name as “X.” Initially, the young couple lived in Henrico County, having one slave in 1810 and two horses. In 1812, Elizabeth and her husband sold her 51 acres of inherited land in Henrico County to her brother Royal F. Shepherd. During the War of 1812, Jesse was a Corporal in Capt. Hezekiah Henley’s Company Virginia Militia, and was stationed at Norfolk Virginia from February 7th to March 3rd in 1813. Upon his return, the couple then moved, in 1814, to Goochland County, where, on December 23, 1815, they purchased 119 ½ acres of quality farmland on Buffalo Creek from Joseph Woodson. By 1818, they had grown their slave holdings to three slaves, as well as, owning two horses and other livestock. Their marriage was cut tragically short by the death of Jesse in the fall of 1818.

                In January of 1810, Royal F. Shepherd legally became an adult, reaching the age of 21 years. Shortly thereafter, on April 4, 1810, Royal married his first cousin and step-sister Mary “Polly” Cottrell (1792-c.1819), who was the youngest daughter of Charles W. Cottrell (1751-1818) and his first wife Mary Shapard (c. 1758 – before 1799).  Royal and Polly had known each other for over a decade, and had lived under the same roof ever since their parents married in 1799. Royal and his new bride resided in the Upper District of Henrico County on his 49 acres of inherited land. Royal’s brother-in-law Jesse Ellis Redford (husband of Elizabeth Price Shepherd) was his surety on his marriage bond. The witness on the marriage bond was Royal Shepherd’s former guardian Samuel Brown (1771 – 1847). Interestingly, Royal’s wife Mary Cottrell and Samuel Brown’s wife Judith Cottrell (1787-1823) were sisters.   



                Shortly after Royal’s coming of age and marriage, his siblings David A. Shepherd and Mary “Polly” A. Shepherd petitioned the County Court, on June 4, 1810, for a guardian change from their uncle Samuel Woodward to their brother Royal F. Shepherd. The court granted their request and Royal entered into bond in the penalty of $1,500 for each of his siblings. Thomas Shoemaker, Jesse Ellis Redford, John Price and Charles Cottrell all backed Royal as his securities on the bonds in case of default on his responsibilities. Their brother Samuel Shepherd, who was 18 years old in 1810, decided to remained with his uncle Samuel Woodward for the final three years of his guardianship.    

                1811 was a special year for Royal and his wife, due to the birth of their first child, a daughter they named Mary A. Shepherd (c.1811-c.1833). She was named after both Royal and Polly’s mothers. Mary was raised in the Upper District of Henrico County. Although not much is known about Mary, it is recorded that she married in 1832, at the age of 21 years old, to her second cousin, Robert Shepherd (1809-aft.1840), the son of Reuben Sheppard (1772-1813) and Sarah “Sally” (Cocke) (?-1822). Mary died between 1832 and 1840, having no surviving children.

                On May 8, 1812, Royal F. Shepherd doubled his land holdings to 100 acres, after purchasing 51 additional acres, that adjoined his original 49 acres, from his sister Elizabeth and her husband James Ellis Redford for $410. This was Elizabeth’s inherited land from her father on Flat Branch of Tuckahoe Creek bordering the lands of Royal F. Shepherd and his brother Samuel Shepherd. Royal’s sister and her husband moved to Goochland County, shortly after the sale, with plans of building a life there.    

                At the age of only 23 years old, Royal was already a man of great worth, taking on the responsibilities of a husband, a father, a landowner and a master. While tending to the needs of his own wife and child, Royal was also fostering and caring for his two younger siblings, David A. and Mary “Polly,” and was the master of two slaves over the age of 16 years. All six people depended upon his care as their sole provider. Records show that he owned a 100 acre farm, with two horses, as well as, managing the farms and slaves of David A. and Mary “Polly;” the former farm being 116 acres and the latter 104 acres. Royal was able to rent out the lands and slaves for income. In 1811, David’s land was rented for £10.16.0 and David’s two slaves were hired out for the year: a woman for £9.9.0 and a girl for £1.16.0. Mary “Polly’s” land was rented for £3.12.0 and her woman and boy slaves were hired out for £6.0.0 for the year. Royal’s guardian accounts, that were periodically rendered to the court, illustrates the expenses he incurred in raising his siblings. In 1811, expenditures were mostly for clothing, such as shoes and hats and the purchase of cloth for fabricating breaches, coats, shirts and dresses. Other expenses included paying their land taxes, making a corn crib, construction of a garden, boarding a negro boy for the year and building a small house.                  

William Shapard (1771-1843) of Richmond Virginia; Updated Information

 

William Shapard (1771-1843), the son of William Shapard, Sr. (c.1740-1807) and Mary Booker (1746-1804), came to the city of Richmond circa 1798 from Granville County, North Carolina. William was a skilled carpenter and house joiner in North Carolina; however, he did not continue this vocation whilst in Virginia, instead establishing himself as a merchant in Richmond. He and his partner, Gustavus Lucke, created the firm of Shapard & Lucke selling imports off the ships docking at Richmond ports, as well as, selling freight space on outgoing vessels. Shapard & Lucke dissolved their partnership in 1803, only to reunite in 1804 and then finally dissolve again in 1810, whereby, the firm name was changed to William Shapard & Co. In 1809, William began investing in real estate, purchasing Richmond town lot No. 555 from Edmund W. Rootes for the significant sum of $2,475. William had a beloved bulldog named ‘Thaddeus,’ that was stolen, in 1812, by a runaway slave.  During the War of 1812, William donated $200 worth of gunpowder in support of the U.S. Army in defense of the city of Richmond. William and his younger brother Robert Shapard (1786-1828) both served in Capt. John R. Jones’ 19th Regiment Virginia Militia, commanded by Lieutenant Colonel John Ambler in 1813 and 1814.  From 1815 through 1821, he partnered in business with his cousin Lewis Webb, son of John Webb (1747-1826) and Amy Booker (1752-1835), under the name of ‘Shapard & Webb.’ William also formed a partnership with his brother Robert Shapard, that was dissolved in 1825.

William Shapard became extremely successful in his business and acquired tremendous wealth. He resided at his 1,300 acre plantation known as ‘Westham Cottage’ on the north side of the James River on Big Westham Creek, which was worked by his 54 slaves. A portion of his plantation is now part of the campus of the University of Richmond, whereupon a slave cemetery was recently discovered. In addition to his plantation, he also owned several lots in the city of Richmond in DuVal’s addition and on H Street near Monumental Church. William Shapard was elected as a Justice of Henrico County on April 13, 1824, and maintained his judgeship until approximately January of 1833. He became a member of the First Presbyterian Church of Richmond on May 24, 1828, and was dismissed on January 18, 1838 to join the 4th Presbyterian church of Richmond. In 1827, William petitioned the authorities of Henrico County to establish a saw and grist mill on his plantation along the James River. In 1832, a vandal on two separate occasions set fire to William Shapard’s property, burning down a cottage and two barns filled with farm equipment and grains. He offered a $250 reward for the apprehension of those responsible, and on December 3, 1832, the scoundrel was captured.

There is evidence that William may have married prior to 1818, and that his wife “Elizabeth H. Shapard” died on July 7, 1818 in Richmond. William did marry late in life, at 54 years of age, in 1825, to Catherine Bridges, being the widow of James Bridges. Through their union they had one daughter, named Willianna (1826-1897), born on March 4, 1826. Apparently Willianna was quite a beauty for her time, as musician Gustave Bessner in 1842 composed a waltz in her honor. Willianna married Philip Mayo Tabb (1819-1888) of Richmond, Virginia, in 1845. William Shapard died at the age of 72, on February 16, 1843, and was buried in Shockoe Hill Cemetery in Richmond, Virginia, where his towering stone obelisk remains standing to this day.